Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great traditional recipe. I use 1/2 cup milk and 1 can slightly chopped water chestnuts mixed in the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Omit the soy sauce and this dish is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Few tweaks from Grandma Lucy's recipe makes this recipe so good (albeit so bad for you - but what the heck - we only serve this at Thanksgiving). Mix beans with cream of celery instead of mushroom and mix with crumbled Ritz Crackers, and milk as needed but I rarely add any. Mix in chunks of Velveeta cheese (yes Velveeta), omit soy sauce, bake as directed and top with onions for last 5 - 10 minutes. My 5 stars are for this revised recipe which is all raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I make this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. I love it, and so does everyone who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn22

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I've made this for years - but always use fresh green beans & pre-cook them (boil) first with some seasoning & bacon. Use real cream i/o milk - part Sherry. Saute sliced onions & fresh mushrooms together until the mushrooms are limp - then follow the directions given. Makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I use this as a base for my green bean casserole, with modifications passed down from my grandmother. I omit the soy sauce, use much less milk so it isn't soupy, and add a medium block of cubed Velveeta. Not figure-friendly, but lick-the-plate delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe has been a tradition for Thanks giving for years. I use 1 can Golden Mushroom and 1 can Cream of Mushroom for a prettier color and richer taste. Also, I use low sodium soy sauce or skip it altogether. Reduce milk to 1/2 c. and 1 c. french fried onions in the sauce and 1/2 c. on top makes it less runny and not too overwhelmed by the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a family favorite. But I've modified it by eliminating the soy sauce. I add only 3/4 cup of milk but 3/4 cup fat free sour cream (this helps to thicken the sauce). Drained and chopped water chestnuts add some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe is great! My family loves it, even my two young boys. I sometimes like to make it into a main course by mixing in 2 cooked chicken breast (cubed), 1 small onion (diced), some garlic (minced), and some sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
"Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States