Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
First let me state that I didn't use the canned stuff. I used "Cream of Mushroom Soup I" which is my go to recipe for CoM. With that said, my husband gave it 2 stars. Josceline gave it 4 stars. I gave it 4 stars. I have made the top 5 green bean casseroles on AR and I think this was the worst out of the 5 BUT it is still edible and satisfying. I think it was the soy sauce and too much milk/soupiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
mmmmm mmmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is a holiday tradition that I couldn't imagine going without. I add 1/4 tsp dill weed, 1/2 tsp liquid smoke, and a dash of garlic powder for a yummy kick, and undercook my frozen green beans so they don't go to mush after they're rebaked in the casserole. Instead of stirring the milk in before it's baked, I add only as much as I think it needs after the 25 minute bake time when you're directed to stir the mixture (perhaps 1/2 - 3/4 c. at most). This prevents things from being runny while maintaining the creamy texture. Enjoy -- this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I followed the directions as written (well ok I added some extra onions) and it came out fantastic. Took this to a church Thanksgiving potluck last night and between the 3 or 4 there, this was the first one to go! We used fresh green beans (cut and blanched for a few minutes) so the color was so much more vibrant compared with the other casseroles. My husband was against making the casserole initially because he thought I was using the canned green beans (which he has a weird aversion to), but he said he wanted this one again. Thank you, Campbells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MleSlngTerp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I think Campbell's perfected the green bean casserole for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I make this every Thanksgiving, I love the french onion, (who doesn't?) However, this year, I am going to follow the recipe but omit soysauce, a little less milk, and add about 2-3 caremelized for an extra kick! Then top with the french onions, cause I find that last year it was good, but it could have been better if it wasn't as "milky" and I will be using fresh string beans (steamed) then cut! Happy thankgiving all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Reading all of the reviews I checked my Durkee's French Fried Onion Recipe and it only calls for one can of cream of mushroom soup and 3/4c. milk. This may be why many thought it was too runny. This is a staple for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
One of my favorites. I used about 1/3 cup of milk and omitted the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great traditional recipe. I use 1/2 cup milk and 1 can slightly chopped water chestnuts mixed in the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Omit the soy sauce and this dish is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States