Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
YUM! This was my first dish as a young mom, new cook haha and it turned out flawless! Tips that really helped from the previous reviews was using the MINUTE rice to avoid rice still being hard after cook time......CHICKEN BROTH instead of water.......and a BUNCH of CHEESE on top! Easy easy I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipie can be very bland, but I made the following allowances and it was perfect.....I sauteed celery and mixed veggies with a little of the cream of mushroom mixture. Once that was done I added it to the casserole dish with the other ingredients....Add two chicken bullion cubes, season salt, pepper, garlic powder and lemon peper seasoning....Stir.....Take chicken and cut slices down the middle...that will thin the breast and give you another breast....season the breast well.....dip in a bowl of milk and season with italian bread crumbs...put a small amount of oil in a nonstick skillet and brown the breast on both sides....places on top the casserole mixure bake and add cheese....YUMMY with crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ketero1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe tasted OK. I used the Campbell's Creamy Chicken soup. Instead of water I used milk. Instead of white rice I used brown rice. Also I cut 3 large chicken breasts in small cubes. I chose garlic salt with parsley over the onion powder because I did not have onion powder on hand. I added 2 heaping cups of frozen broccoli. I also seasoned with salt and pepper. I mixed everything together. The cook time took me 1 hour and 8 minutes, I checked the casserole after 45 min and the rice was still not cooked all the way through. I gave it 1 hour, check it again, and decided to give it a few extra minutes. After 8 minutes I decided it was done because it started to get dry, I mixed it well right after it came out to make sure the rice cooked itself all the way through. It came out bland. I didn't add the cheese because I'd only be adding calories to an already bland dish, so I wanted to keep it healthy. I was looking for something simple, it wasn't as simple as it seemed. Would I make this again? Probably not, but one thing I do like about it is I altered the recipe so it fit into my 'eating right' life style plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
We Loved this recipe. Will use it again. Of course I read reviews before making any dish. Previous cooks leave the best ideas. Hence, I replaced water with chicken broth, used fresh zucchini & kernel corn instead of frozen veggies. Also, I pounded the chicken to tenderize before seasoning and laying on top of rice mixture. Only 2 pieces of chicken fit in the baking dish, but each piece was thoroughly cooked and delicious. Added 20 minutes to cooking time and let sit for an additional 15 minutes before serving letting all the liquid absorb into the rice kernels. WOW, delightfully good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JozieLee
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
very yummy!!! I added 1/2 water and half broth and to season the Chicken I added "Garlic Garlic" from tastefully simple and that was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It's hard for me to review this recipe as i really just used it as a starting point, the recipe as written, is quite bland and nothing special, with a few tweaks it becomes wonderful! I cubed and sauteed the chicken first with some diced onion, also sauteed the vegetables briefly, i used worcestershire, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper and bouillion powder to add flavour. I also cooked the rice in chicken broth prior to baking. I assembled the casserole, added 2 cans of mushroom soup rather than chicken and just a bit of milk for the liquid and i baked it for 30 minutes, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Bigger chicken pieces were somewhat bland and rice was slightly crunchy. Next time I'll season smaller chicken pieces a little more before adding and cook an additional 10 minutes. Overall a decent recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Pretty good... needed a little extra seasoning though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
my 3 kids all like it and so do i and my husband for an easy, prepare early, pop in the oven meal. But the cooking time is WAY longer. Maybe 1 1/2 hours. And i have a gas oven and cut the chicken in smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a good weeknight meal because it is quick prep and the ingredients are typically on hand. The recipe should specify the size of the chicken breasts because even halving those I purchased, the cook time was much longer than the recipe indicated. Perhaps it is because I used frozen vegetables? I think it took about 90 minutes to get the chicken to 160 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States