Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I've made this recipe for a couple years now and we both love it. I use low-fat cream of chicken soup and leave out the frozen veggies (neither of us eats them anyway). I top the chicken breasts with half a can of diced tomatoes and a couple crushed pieces of seasoned stuffing before baking. With just 5 minutes left in the baking time, I top with a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella cheeses, then broil for the remaining time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Bernard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Ok, so this is my first time rating a recipe (although I've been on the site for years)! This recipe was really good with some tweaks. Here's what I did different: I used chicken STOCK instead of water, dried garlic, basil and oregano instead of onion powder and chicken sausage (with jalapeños/cheddar) instead of breasts and everything else the same. I cut my sausage on a bias and mixed everything up in a separate bowl and poured it in my casserole dish. (For the veggies I used mushrooms and broccoli and even cut up some jalapeños). Served with some crusty bread and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe was good, but did lack flavour. I used chicken broth as another reviewer also did, and a little bit of Italian spice on chicken. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. I also had to cook it for over an hour to get rice cooked, but an hour was too long for the chicken (dried out). It was good as I stated earlier, but could have been alot better with a little more spice/flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Rice was a little undercooked and chicken was a little overcooked. Might try using thawed veggies instead so it doesn't take so long to heat up rice mixture or a little more water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This recipe is fast and easy but the first time I made it it came out watery, bland and it didn't make very much. To make it savory and delicious I used 2 cans of creamy chicken soup, 2 1/2 cans of water, 2 cups rice and 2 cups veggies. Instead of using onion powder I used onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We did like it, but there were a few issues. The biggest thing - it came out too soupy. I will make it again; however, I will change the following: I will use 1/2 the water. I will use saffron flavored rice and not plain. All in all - A solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this and gave 4 stars because I changed the recipe up. I used chicken breast tenders and cubed them, then mixed in 1/2 can creamy chicken noodle soup and 1 can broccoli cheese. I then added chicken broth instead of water and 1 1/2 bags frozen mixed veggies. For the rice, I got a bag of the steamable brown rice in the freezer section and followed the package instructions to microwave for 4 minutes. That way I knew the rice would be done. I seasoned with garlic salt, paprika, basil, and some red pepper flakes. I poured it all into a casserole dish and topped with shredded Fiesta cheese (all I had on hand). Baked for 50 min and it was very good and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T; however, the rice definitely was not cooked thoroughly. Great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
One of my all time favorite recipes!!! I prefer to cube the chicken and cook it all together like a casserole. I also use brown rice and it is just as yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My mother always makes it exactly as written and I love it. I changed a few things because of what I had in my pantry and now I will always make it my way. I used Campbell's cream of celery soup, shredded carrots instead of frozen veggies and I added salt and pepper to the mix. I heated the water and added a large chicken bouillon cube to dissolve. I seasoned the chicken with Mrs. Dash original and a small amount of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Shady Cove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States