Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by 80percentgray
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used greek seasoning and crushed red pepper as well as LOTS of garlic (minced garlic in the rice mixture and garlic powder on top of the chicken). I topped it with not only cheddar cheese, but parmesan, asagio, and romano cheese as well, and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I find it easier to always cook the rice first on it's own and if you enjoy more flavor, cook the rice in chicken broth. Then mix the already cooked rice with all the other ingredients. So i won't find the recipe bland, i cut up pieces of velveeta cheese so its melts within the rice while cooking (this will help prevent it from tasting dry sometimes) and then i'll also add more chicken broth or a little more cream of chicken to satisfy my taste. Instead of cooking it for only 45 minutes also, i like to keep the heat low and cook it for a couple of overs and slowly over the hours i will sprinkle grated cheese on top. it's delicious in the end and leftovers are always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I gave this three star, I messed up when I made it, so my review is of my revised results. I had read the recipe and planned on making it, but my computer wouldn't access the net the day I was going to make it. I ended up using instant rice and preparing it ahead of everything else because I couldn't remember what this recipe said. I then improvised by cutting the chicken into chunks and sauteing separately. I used a can of cream of chicken, stirred that into the rice and maybe added a quarter cup of water. I stirred in the chicken and some shredded cheddar. I also dumped in some still frozen broccoli. I baked it covered for about 20 minutes and it came out fantastically. Very flavorful, not dry and not soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
my kids love this and so do i. i use boil in bag rice. and while its boiling i cut up and brown my chicken in a little butter or olive oil. i also use a small jar of cheese whiz mixed in the soup. 1/2 cup or so of chicken broth to keep from drying out. sprinkle with some crushed ritz crackers. i use fresh broccoli. my daughter likes it with seasoned yellow rice instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I've made this several times, and never had a problem with the rice being under-done. I cut my my chicken into chunks beforehand, stir in the cheese and bake for around 50 minutes. Make sure to cover it. Very easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made this with chicken broth instead of water, used chicken flavored shake & bake on chicken also I boiled my rice for 10 mins prior then cooked for the 45 mins @ 375 and checked it after 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
this recipe as is, is very bland!! Im from the south and i like seasoning in food so i added quite a bit of Tony Sascheres. It made it a little bit better, but i wouldn't make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
****MMM!! is what I heard over & over again with this recipe. I did saute' my cubed chicken breasts with a little seasoning and olive oil before adding it to the soup mixture, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, took another reviewers' advice and used instant rice....had no problems with rice being undercooked. After baking for 30 minutes I topped it with the cheese and some crushed french-fried onions, and baked another 10 min. I let it stand about 15 minutes and it was perfect. Excellent recipe, I will make this often! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
First off, for the high altitude people, I live at 7000 feet, and it turned out fine. But I did not use normal rice, which could be the reason. I cooked as is, but used pee's as a veggie (just from a can) and for the rice I used a box of instant wild grain rice. The wild grain rice comes with a seasoning packet, which I just tossed in with everything else. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Tasted great! I will cook again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I am seriously on 2nd hour of cooking this. :( The rice is still crunchy. I'm wondering if it's because of my altitude? If anyone masters a high-altitude version of this, let me know. I can tell it's going to taste great...when it's finally done cooking at midnight. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States