Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I've done this several times in several ways. Doing it the way the recipe describes makes undercooked, incredibly bland, chewy, depressing food. However, if you cook the rice in advance, and cook the chicken in advance (preferably cubed small and mixed in with the rice and vegetables) it turns out much more flavorful. Sure it adds a few extra steps so it no longer is a quick after-work meal, but if you have the time to pack that extra TLC and flavor in, DO IT. I also cook the rice with some chicken stock and I use broccoli cheddar soup cans instead of the suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
All my picky eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is the best no prep meal. I love that you can literally throw everything in a casserole dish and an hour later you have dinner. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Kids and grownups loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Easy, delicious and always a big hit for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifulvanilla@mac.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I tweaked this recipe to make it more flavorful. It turned out way too good not to share! With my revisions to the recipe, I give it 5 stars! So easy and delicious!! Cheesy Baked Chicken and Rice Ingredients •1 (10.75 ounce) can Campbell's Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup (regular or 98% Fat Free) •1 1/3 cups Chicken Broth •3/4 cup uncooked Uncle Ben’s Country Inn Chicken & Vegetable Rice (you WILL need the seasoning packet that comes with it) •2 cups frozen vegetables •Hormet Real Bacon Bits (glass jar) •1/2 teaspoon onion powder •4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts •1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese Directions 1.Stir the soup, chicken broth, rice, rice seasoning packet, vegetables, onion powder and half jar of bacon bits in a 12 x 8 inch shallow baking dish. 2.Cut chicken breasts into large chunks and Season chicken as desired. 3.Mix seasoned chicken in the dish and top dish with remaining jar of real bacon bits. 4.Cover. 5.Bake at 375 degrees F for 45 minutes or until done. 6.Top with cheese and put dish back in oven just long enough to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Here's what I did to make this dish pretty good: Cube the chicken and mix all of the ingredients (except for the cheese) together. The chicken cooks better this way. I also used chicken broth instead of water, I think it helped give it more flavor. Don't forget to season the chicken before you mix it with everything else! I also used Cream of Chicken with Herbs soup. This is definitely going to be made a lot at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
As is, this recipe is maybe a 3 star. It tends to come out under cooked. Some modifications I use are: tenderloin strips instead of a full breast. Lots of pepper garlic and other seasonings on top of chicken. Also I use 1 1/2 cups rice, 2 cups water, half a can of cream of cheddar soup, a splash of milk and shredded cheese in the rice mixture. I cook covered for 30 minutes then uncover and cook till done usually another half hour. With a little imagination this recipe is a good base and very easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
YUM! This was my first dish as a young mom, new cook haha and it turned out flawless! Tips that really helped from the previous reviews was using the MINUTE rice to avoid rice still being hard after cook time......CHICKEN BROTH instead of water.......and a BUNCH of CHEESE on top! Easy easy I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipie can be very bland, but I made the following allowances and it was perfect.....I sauteed celery and mixed veggies with a little of the cream of mushroom mixture. Once that was done I added it to the casserole dish with the other ingredients....Add two chicken bullion cubes, season salt, pepper, garlic powder and lemon peper seasoning....Stir.....Take chicken and cut slices down the middle...that will thin the breast and give you another breast....season the breast well.....dip in a bowl of milk and season with italian bread crumbs...put a small amount of oil in a nonstick skillet and brown the breast on both sides....places on top the casserole mixure bake and add cheese....YUMMY with crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ketero1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States