Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at our house, only I use skim milk instead of the water and whole grain instant brown rice. I also cut up the chicken into cubes and brown slightly before adding to the baking dish. The mexican blend shredded cheese works great even if you don't like the chili powder in it. One other helpful hint is to mix the soup and milk together and add the rice, then pour over chicken in casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
It's been many years since I have used a soup recipe, but I was in need of something very quick and easy. I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. By using homemade chicken stock in place of the water and adding my own seasonings (sage, thyme and tarragon) it was really quite good and the sauce tasted home made, not canned. I forgot the cheese but it wasn't needed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I saw this recipe in a Campbell's ad. I made it precisely to the instructions. It came out bland. Even my husband complained (he's not a picky eater). There are way too many fabulous easy chicken and rice casserole recipes out there to make this one a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Made it last night for the first time, and it was great!! Took some leftovers to work for my lunch--still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taboo0914

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
We all liked this. I made the "italian" version because some reviews said the original recipe lacked flavour. I used homemade chicken stock in place of the water and the local grocery store was out of plain cream of chicken soup so we used cream of chicken and white wine. We did not find it bland at all. Will make this again but will part boil the rice first. This time the rice didn't cook fully, even after an hour of cooking and me adding extra liquid during cooking. Also I will cube the chicken breast and mix it in with the rice & soup to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Great, easy recipe. I use chicken broth instead of water for added flavor. Plus, I don't usually keep onion powder on hand, so I use a seasoning blend like Emeril's or Montreal seasoning. Whatever I'm in the mood for. My family loves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I thought the taste was kind of bland, but my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I had boneless turkey breasts already, so I used that in place of the chicken and I used frozen veggies and instead of cream of chicken I used mushroom. Those are the only changes I made, and it turned out good, but my turkey really dried out. I even tried to keep it in the liquid before the rice soaked it all up. Next time I will try something else for the meat, otherwise, good recipe. Would be good vegetarian too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Boyfriend said that it tasted fine... but the cooking time was off. It took alot longer to cook. Also, used a package of frozen veggies in cheese sauce which I think added to the flavor. This dish was very easy and the ingredients are always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Used this classic recipe tonight for dinner. I was out of mushroom soup, so I used chicken stock and a little bit of tomato paste. Came out way better than usual. Also topped with mozzerella cheese. The chicken stayed very moist, although I cooked it for about an hour. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jellyfish Glass

Displaying results 131-140 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States