Campbell's® Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
****MMM!! is what I heard over & over again with this recipe. I did saute' my cubed chicken breasts with a little seasoning and olive oil before adding it to the soup mixture, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, took another reviewers' advice and used instant rice....had no problems with rice being undercooked. After baking for 30 minutes I topped it with the cheese and some crushed french-fried onions, and baked another 10 min. I let it stand about 15 minutes and it was perfect. Excellent recipe, I will make this often! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
First off, for the high altitude people, I live at 7000 feet, and it turned out fine. But I did not use normal rice, which could be the reason. I cooked as is, but used pee's as a veggie (just from a can) and for the rice I used a box of instant wild grain rice. The wild grain rice comes with a seasoning packet, which I just tossed in with everything else. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Tasted great! I will cook again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I am seriously on 2nd hour of cooking this. :( The rice is still crunchy. I'm wondering if it's because of my altitude? If anyone masters a high-altitude version of this, let me know. I can tell it's going to taste great...when it's finally done cooking at midnight. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I LOVE it !!! one of my favorite dinner's :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Ok so I have made this several times but on this particular occasion, I didn't have the cream of chicken soup instead I had on hand the cream of broccoli soup. I also cooked it for 55 mins instead of the 45 due to uncooked rice in the 45 min directions. It turned out better in my opinion with the cream of broccoli soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thequeenb2009

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Really easy to make, but was really really bland. Took longer to bake than the recipe said...sad day:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldengirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this last night but changed it up like some of the reviews said to do. I seasoned and browned the chicken first. I cooked the veges and brown rice as well. Then threw it together into the baking dish using chicken broth instead of water. I also added a can of cream of celery for more flavor. For the veges I used broccoli,peas and cauliflower. I used onion and garlic powder as well for a seasoning. Even with all this the recipe was still bland. It was like eating plain oatmeal. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Cisneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was an easy meal to throw together with what I already had in my kitchen. I added some minced garlic and Frank's hot sauce since I knew my husband and I would need a little more flavor and "kick". I did have to cook it an extra 15 minutes - the rice was still uncooked at 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I give this 5 stars based on a few changes. First, I deboned 4 chicken thighs, cut up the meat, and mixed it into the rice/soup mixture. Second, instead of white rice I used a blend of brown and whole grain rice, which I think added a lot of flavor that white rice would not. Finally, I do not like frozen vegetables or onion powder, so I instead chopped half a yellow onion, 1 bell pepper, and 2 stalks of celery. It took way longer than 45 minutes to cook, possibly because of the rice I used. I cooked it covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 45 and it was perfect. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States