Campbell's Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I had some left over puff pastry to use up. I scaled the recipe down to 4. I didn't do the swiss roll thing though - I rolled the pastry out to a rectangle as best I could and put the filling down one half of the pastry and then folded the empty half of the pastry over the filling and rolled up the three sides to seal. I also brushed it with milk instead of the egg wash and sprinkled on some sugar before baking. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Great easy recipe to make. I used the side of my grater to uniformly slice the apples. I added a few dashes of lemon juice to the apples and about a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts to the apple mixture. Finished with a cinnamon glaze after the strudel cooled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe is to die for!!! I left out the raisins and didn't use the confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I've been searching for an authetic recipe for apfel studel as my husband is German and I will look no further. My husband said I out did myself, if only he knew how easy it was to make. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe. Recommended for anyone who wants to limit sugar intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
left out the raisins and just topped it with regular sugar.. used cortland apples since thats what i had on hand. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I usually find strudel to be dry and not sweet enough, but this was great once I doubled (and then some) the sugar. Granny Smith apples and golden raisins were perfect. My son's pre-K class loved it! I also used more apples than it called for. Allow 40-50 minutes for your pastry to thaw. If you want your top to be smooth, be sure not to add apples to the top half of the pastry dough before you roll it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Excellent! I wanted individual servings, so I cut one pastry sheet into three strips, then filled & rolled up. They came out perfect! I topped with a confectioner's sugar and milk glaze - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very tasty and easy! Substituted Craisins for raisins, and it was too tart with granny smiths. Stick with raisins, or use a different apple I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This strudel right here is a real winner. It is as authentic as anything you could buy at a reputable bakery. I was proud to take this to a gathering I attended. It is very impressive and SO delicious. I changed NOTHING in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States