Campbell's Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I had some left over puff pastry to use up. I scaled the recipe down to 4. I didn't do the swiss roll thing though - I rolled the pastry out to a rectangle as best I could and put the filling down one half of the pastry and then folded the empty half of the pastry over the filling and rolled up the three sides to seal. I also brushed it with milk instead of the egg wash and sprinkled on some sugar before baking. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy and most of my family enjoyed it. Follwed the recipe with the exception of omitting the raisins and using parchment paper instead of greasing the pan. I will definately use a little more sugar next time, double the cinnamon and include the raisins or use dried cranberries. Also, my oven temperature is accurate but at 35 minutes, although a perfect golden brown exterior, the middle of the dough was just a little under-baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was delicious. Very easy to make. I used Cortland apples and they were fine. I also substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. I did have trouble rolling out to the stated size, so I made it a bit smaller. I also used parchment paper to roll out on, this helped a lot to roll with the apple filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Great easy recipe to make. I used the side of my grater to uniformly slice the apples. I added a few dashes of lemon juice to the apples and about a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts to the apple mixture. Finished with a cinnamon glaze after the strudel cooled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Bad name for anyone searching for a strudel recipe. I thought this might have soup in it! Anyway, this is very good and so quick to put together. I do think it's close to impossible to roll as per the instructions because there seems to be too much filling for the amount of pastry (which I couldn't get to 16x12). Just enclose the filling in the dough, seal and place seam side down on parchment paper. Next time I will add a bit extra sugar, maybe an equal amount of brown sugar, and add some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Excellent! I wanted individual servings, so I cut one pastry sheet into three strips, then filled & rolled up. They came out perfect! I topped with a confectioner's sugar and milk glaze - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I've been searching for an authetic recipe for apfel studel as my husband is German and I will look no further. My husband said I out did myself, if only he knew how easy it was to make. Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe is to die for!!! I left out the raisins and didn't use the confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great starter recipe! I also added walnuts to mine...this recipe allows you to add whatever else you want to the apple filling w/o any difficulties. Although I did have trouble using the swiss roll method so folded in 1/2 & sealed edges. I also used sugar in the raw to sprinkle on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This strudel right here is a real winner. It is as authentic as anything you could buy at a reputable bakery. I was proud to take this to a gathering I attended. It is very impressive and SO delicious. I changed NOTHING in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States