Campbell's Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was good and easy, but I didn't think it was any exceptional. I also sprinkled some sugar over the top to give the outside a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Was good and pretty easy to make. The ends of the pastry didn't cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is the same recipe I have been using for years. Simple and easy. I slice my apples paper thin, and let them soak in a bit of lemon juice (to keep the color), 1 TB cinnamon, and about 2/3 cup of sugar for at least an hour, or overnight. This really enhanced the juiciness of the apples...it is a trick my Nana taught me when making apple pie. I toss the apples in about 2 TB flour, and I use 3 apples instead of 2 because I like a full strudel. Make a glaze with 2 TB butter, 1 cup powdered sugar, and about 2 TB or more as needed. Serve warm with ice cream! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This strudel right here is a real winner. It is as authentic as anything you could buy at a reputable bakery. I was proud to take this to a gathering I attended. It is very impressive and SO delicious. I changed NOTHING in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very tasty and easy! Substituted Craisins for raisins, and it was too tart with granny smiths. Stick with raisins, or use a different apple I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very easy! I doubled the sugar and cinnamon, and after cooled for 30 minutes, topped with a cinnamon/powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have no complaints about this recipe. I followed the recipe as written and found it to be simple to prepare and really delicious. I served it warm, with vanilla ice cream. My partner said he thought it was better than strudel that he ate in Germany. I can't speak to the authenticity of the recipe, but I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for an easy apple dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I used this recipe and won 3rd place in the strudel contest at our local Oktoberfest. It definitely is not authentic-but it tastes decent. I rolled the puff pastry as thin as I could get it. Authentic strudel does not "poof" it's dough is more like a tender filo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very easy and most of my family enjoyed it. Follwed the recipe with the exception of omitting the raisins and using parchment paper instead of greasing the pan. I will definately use a little more sugar next time, double the cinnamon and include the raisins or use dried cranberries. Also, my oven temperature is accurate but at 35 minutes, although a perfect golden brown exterior, the middle of the dough was just a little under-baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Excellent! I wanted individual servings, so I cut one pastry sheet into three strips, then filled & rolled up. They came out perfect! I topped with a confectioner's sugar and milk glaze - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States