Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
when i looked over this recipe, i couldnt figure out why nobody had reviewed it because it sounded so good. so i decided to give it a try. i made it for my boyfriend and my family for valentines day. my family loves spaghetti and they thought this recipe was fantastic! it is one of the best sauces i have ever tried and made. i highly suggest it!!! i made afew minor changes but mainly stuck to the recipe. it is so flavorful! if you are looking for a good sauce i would try this one. changes i made: cut the sausage into tiny meatballs instead of lenghtwise added all of the juice from the whole tomotoes added extra basil and oragano to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenkennedy
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the only way I ever make spaghetti. Soooo much better than making your meat sauce with ground beef. To save time, I just remove the casings and break up the sausage with my wooden spoon as it cooks. Try to find a good Italian deli to buy fresh sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Indeed the best spaghetti I've made at home thus far (my husband's favorite spaghetti). Gave it four stars because the amount of salt was a bit too much for us, so I reduced it to less than 1/4 tsp... we could probably do without added salt altogether. We've made it with and without sausage- both good. Also made it with 1 Tbsp. dried oregano vs. fresh... great that way too. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
absolutely delicious, i made this for a family get together and everyone was impressed, should`ve doubled the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This recipe got rave reviews from the family. I doubled the recipe and am so glad I did! Like others, I crumbled the sausage (I used lean turkey Italian sausage links) and cooked it with the ground beef mixture. Absolutely wonderful! This will be our permanent spaghetti sauce recipe. Just as an FYI, if you prepare it this way, the sauce is VERY meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Oh yeah! One of the best spaghetti sauces I've found yet. Hearty, flavorful, yet not an overpowering tomato base. Made as written except I did use an additional 3 links of Italian sausage. Like other reviewers, I sliced the sausage into small meatballs and didn't remove the casings. Next time I'll use fresh basil and oregano, but used dried since this is what I had on hand. Five minutes in the oven at 350* to melt the fresh parmesan cheese was perfect. Thanks hungryguy for this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was extremely good. I served it to company with a green salad and some nice white bakery bread. I took the easy way out and added the sausage back into the sauce and just put Parmesan on the table for people to add on their own. As written, the presentation would be much more impressive, but this was simple and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made a few small changes due to what I had on hand. I increased the garlic, I did not add the full amount of salt (just enough for flavor) and I drained off the liquid in the tomatoes and replaced the liquid I drained off with red wine. I did not have fresh oregano so I used dried. Very nice basic spaghetti sauce that was quick to prepare. I don't think it had too much meat, I think it was just right. Out of the whole skilletful, there is a small bowl of leftovers--I'd say my family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Well..well..well...what can I say that hasn't already been said?? This is THE BEST spaghetti I have ever tasted or made in my entire life!! It got rave reviews from my family and neighbor. Followed the recipe to a T..I always saute my fresh mushrooms and onions in olive oil and butter before adding to a recipe, I just love the flavor of the mushrooms....anyway probably added a little more garlic that called for but other than that right to the recipe. We really liked the fact that it wasn't so "tomatoey", yum, it was absolutely delicious!! This will be my go to recipe from now on..the search is over! I would love to know if this "navy chef" has any more recipes...I served this with Giada D. cheddar onion bread..my god it is wonderful, also. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...I truly appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
dElish! Pleasantly surprised out how good this sauce turned out!! I did scale this down to a serving for 2 using 1 large can of peeled whole tomatoes & a small jar of Prego 3 Cheese Spaghetti Sauce. I didn't remove my sausage casing, but rather cut them into smaller bite-size pieces & found them a little bit tough, so next time, will definitely remove casing & make them into meatball size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States