Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very hearty and chunky pasta sauce. I added about 1/2 cup red wine and let the sauce simmer all day! I put a few leaves of fresh torn basil on mine right before eating. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Definitely omit the salt... added a little cayenne pepper for a little kick. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Really tasty spaghetti sauce. I added 1/2 a cup of white wine to the recipe. I also cut the sausage up and added it back to the pot. I was also tempted to add diced tomatoes the first time I made this, but it was not a swift move. It is not meant to be a thin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Our new favorite! Changed up a few things according to dietary restrictions - left out salt, used Dreamfields low-carb pasta. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Indeed the best spaghetti I've made at home thus far (my husband's favorite spaghetti). Gave it four stars because the amount of salt was a bit too much for us, so I reduced it to less than 1/4 tsp... we could probably do without added salt altogether. We've made it with and without sausage- both good. Also made it with 1 Tbsp. dried oregano vs. fresh... great that way too. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the only way I ever make spaghetti. Soooo much better than making your meat sauce with ground beef. To save time, I just remove the casings and break up the sausage with my wooden spoon as it cooks. Try to find a good Italian deli to buy fresh sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this was. Leftovers are great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
absolutely delicious, i made this for a family get together and everyone was impressed, should`ve doubled the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
when i looked over this recipe, i couldnt figure out why nobody had reviewed it because it sounded so good. so i decided to give it a try. i made it for my boyfriend and my family for valentines day. my family loves spaghetti and they thought this recipe was fantastic! it is one of the best sauces i have ever tried and made. i highly suggest it!!! i made afew minor changes but mainly stuck to the recipe. it is so flavorful! if you are looking for a good sauce i would try this one. changes i made: cut the sausage into tiny meatballs instead of lenghtwise added all of the juice from the whole tomotoes added extra basil and oragano to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenkennedy
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-79 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States