Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
loved this. first time i've made spaghetti sauce and it was so easy and really good. only change i made is that i browned the sausage and added it in with the beef instead of putting it on top at the end. and i used cans of petite diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made a few small changes due to what I had on hand. I increased the garlic, I did not add the full amount of salt (just enough for flavor) and I drained off the liquid in the tomatoes and replaced the liquid I drained off with red wine. I did not have fresh oregano so I used dried. Very nice basic spaghetti sauce that was quick to prepare. I don't think it had too much meat, I think it was just right. Out of the whole skilletful, there is a small bowl of leftovers--I'd say my family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
The beauty of this sauce is in it's simplicity. It's a bit of a meat lover's sauce (personal opinion) but this makes a great base recipe to do whatever you want to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I gave this four stars because it seems like the sausage as well as the beef is too much meat, but perhaps that's personal preference. Anyway this is a great, restaurant-style type of spaghetti sauce that's still easy to make with ingredients you have at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great Spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
The bones of this sauce are good, but I felt it needed something... I used 3 links of sausage instead of 2. Like other reviewers, I sliced in half and cooked, and then crumbled it in while simmering. I also added an entire 28 oz can (juice and all) of whole peeled tomatoes, but cut them into smaller pieces as I have picky family members. I couldn't find fresh oregano at the store, so used dry in 1/2 the amount. After all together, my taster told me the sauce needed more depth to counter the salt and meat, so I added 1 can of tomato paste, 1 c of water, and about 1 T of sugar. Now it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Excellent. Whole family loved it. A few minor adjustments. A lot of reviews here talked about how there was too much salt. So I did not add any salt until the sauce, and I used seasoning salt and salted to taste. Also I removed the whole tomatoes prior to serving. I also used 3 sausages instead of 2. I cooked them, then cut them into pieces instead of leaving them whole and then mixed with the beef, onions & garlic once the beef had browned. Everything else was made according to the recipe. Wonderful! I would make again, this is my new go to for Spaghetti. We ate late, so we didn't really have time to melt the cheese on top but I'm sure it would have tasted even better. In the future I would probably use a bit more sauce and use 4-5 sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Excellent recipie. My husband and his buddies gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was wonderful. My entire family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States