Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I've made this several times now.Turns an ordinary box mix into something much tastier...and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is really good. I have made it without the sugar also (not on purpose, just forgot it), and it is just as good. So I don't know if it truly needs 1/2 cup... regardless, it is good either way. I usually make it in a pan a bit smaller than 9x13 so it is a bit "higher" when it is cut. I have made this many times, just realized I had not rated it. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I've made this a few times, and it's good, though I alter it a tiny bit. I double the recipe using a 15-oz package of cornbread mix, but I only use 1/3-1/2 cup of sugar. This makes it the perfect sweetness. I also bake it in a 9" x 9" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was Phenomenal! I made this as a trial for some friends and I didn't have any left. Even someone who doesn't like cream corn LOVED this as did their kids (9yrs and 3yrs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Super easy and delicious! This was very moist and sweet. If you want a dryer bread, this is not the recipe for you. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 X 12 pan. It was really good. The creamed corn gives it a nice sweet flavor. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was really more like cake than cornbread. And very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this corn bread exactly as directed and sorry to say, it didn't rise one bit. Maybe this should be how it turns out (?). I was making this for a side dish with chili and thought would be great to have moist, highly risen cornbread also. I used a glass 9x13 baking dish (don't know if that was reason for it not rising). My friends said it was good, and it was moist but its appearance was very poor. Looking back, I shouldn't have even taken it to the party. If I do try this recipe again, will use 2 boxes of cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Vinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe my family has used for years. Our version also has mild diced green chiles and 1/2 cup each cheddar and jack cheese for a 9 x 13 size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
THIS is the one. Don't look any further if you are looking for a sweet, moist cornbread (like I have been)! Thanks to the reviewers who tested and perfected (and likely corrected) the recipe, I used the following: 2 boxes Jiffy mix, 2/3 cup milk, 2 eggs, 1 14.75 oz can creamed corn (not drained or rinsed, dump it all in!), 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup honey. Baked in a 9x9 square pan at 350 for 50 minutes. Could have used a few mins more but it was so thick and moist!! That's why I did it in the smaller pan, to keep it thick and cake-like. My apologies to the cornbread purists, this is probably nothing like what you enjoy, but it's what I've come to love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Doubled the recipe and cooked for 35 minutes in a cast iron skillet. Came out super terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States