Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious cornbread! Used with "Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili, another great recipe from this site. It is a bit sweeter than traditional cornbread but I like it that way. The only thing I will do differently is change my bake pan. I used a 9x13 glass pyrex and I think it was a spread too thin in that. Next time I will use just a little bit smaller pan and that would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
5 stars when after I changed it up a little. My version tasted wonderful and moist. I used Jiffy corn bread mix, which is sweet enough NO sugar needed, added 1 small diced onion about 3/4 cup and 1/2 cup of diced green bell peppers, 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, and the rest of the listed ingredients except sugar. Baked at 400 for 15-20 minutes in a sprayed 8x8 glass pan. Came out perfect tasted wonderful with 13 bean spicy soup. I usually always change recipes to suit my southern taste and I've never had a complaint. :) Happy cooking everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My boyfriend loved this recipe. I will definitely make this again. Won't use jiffy corn mix without these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Doubled the recipe and instead of cake pan I used greased spuare muffin pans. Worked perfect. This is my go to cornbread recipe. Thanx Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Different but good. Helpful hint, do not use a 9 x 13 pan mentioned in the recipe above; the bread comes out very very thin, try a smaller 9 x 9 or 8 x 8 pan and bake longer than 30 minutes, I suggest at least 35 to 40 depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very easy and delicious, but I am only giving 4 stars instead of 5 because the instructions are a little off. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, as others suggested, and this was more than enough. I cannot imagine how it would taste with the full 1/2 cup. I made muffins (I ended up with 9), but they did not rise at all - therfore, I think it would be too flat if made in a 9x13 pan. I will definitely make again, but with less sugar, and a muffin tin or 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I didn't read the directions thoroughly and added 1 14.75 oz can of creamed corn rather than 8 oz. it still came out pretty tasty- I'm guessing a little chewier than intended. I also omitted sugar and drizzled 1-2 tablespoons of honey on top before baking. It was like a special little treat biting into a thread of honey running through the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It is an eat with a fork moist corn cake, not like a traditional cornbread. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Delicious, but very thin in a 9x13 pan. I would try to do this in a 9x9 next time for a longer baking time. We spooned it out of the 9x13 though and ate with a fork. Very sweet, yes... but we like that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
AMAZING! I've been searching for thus recipe for almost a month. I didn't use all the sugar suggested knowing the creamed corn is sweet. I also added 1/4 flax seed to bump up the fiber/nutrition. My picky eaters LOVED these! Will become a frequent recipe on our monthly menus. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States