Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe is good, but the sugar needs to be cut in half...Way too sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
All I can say is WOW !!!!!!!!! But I'll say more. This is so easy and delicious. I followed the recomandations of others and cut back on the amount of sugar and baked in a 8x8 dish. It was sweet and moist with great texture. As easy and tasty as this is I'll never have an excuse not to have cornbread when I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Doubled the recipe & baked in a 10" cast iron skillet. First warmed skillet in the oven with a coating of oil then poured in the batter which made a marvelous crispy sweet crust. The sweet almost corn-pudding-like cornbread was great with a bowl of spicy black bean soup. Will try with no added sugar next time to see if it is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brunosmom21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
quick and easy and only 30 min...will have to keep a small can of cream corn on hand for future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I make this but don't put extra sugar in it. unless you want it sweeter, just skip it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I am not rating this higher, because I have this recipe in the oven right now. What surprised me was that the recipe called for a 9x13 pan and the recipe ingredients were not nearly enough to fill that size pan. I did not see any comments about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I am not sure if I got the recipe from this site or not, but this has been my FAVORITE cornbread for years and I lost it! I am happy to have it back!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family LOVED this cornbread recipe. It went well with the black-eyed peas and collard greens for the New Year! AWESOME and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is very similar to a corn pudding recipe of a now defunct mexican restaurant chain of which I used to be a general manager. People were always asking for the recipe. Instead of creamed corn we'd use kernel corn and instead of milk we'd use heavy cream. We used to make much larger batches and since we're not using creamed corn I've estimated that you should use about a cup of the heavy cream. We also used to use a steamer oven to cook it so put a pan of water on a rack at the lowest level. That will bring this up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mightymiri
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made changes based on comments. It definitely needed to be doubled, or it would have been really flat. I doubled everything except the canned corn, and I used only 1/4 cup of sugar. I also added 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter. It was a big hit and some said it was the best cornbread they had ever had. Next time I'll try it with some jalapeno added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States