Camp Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was really more like cake than cornbread. And very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this corn bread exactly as directed and sorry to say, it didn't rise one bit. Maybe this should be how it turns out (?). I was making this for a side dish with chili and thought would be great to have moist, highly risen cornbread also. I used a glass 9x13 baking dish (don't know if that was reason for it not rising). My friends said it was good, and it was moist but its appearance was very poor. Looking back, I shouldn't have even taken it to the party. If I do try this recipe again, will use 2 boxes of cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Vinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe my family has used for years. Our version also has mild diced green chiles and 1/2 cup each cheddar and jack cheese for a 9 x 13 size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
THIS is the one. Don't look any further if you are looking for a sweet, moist cornbread (like I have been)! Thanks to the reviewers who tested and perfected (and likely corrected) the recipe, I used the following: 2 boxes Jiffy mix, 2/3 cup milk, 2 eggs, 1 14.75 oz can creamed corn (not drained or rinsed, dump it all in!), 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup honey. Baked in a 9x9 square pan at 350 for 50 minutes. Could have used a few mins more but it was so thick and moist!! That's why I did it in the smaller pan, to keep it thick and cake-like. My apologies to the cornbread purists, this is probably nothing like what you enjoy, but it's what I've come to love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Doubled the recipe and cooked for 35 minutes in a cast iron skillet. Came out super terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The cornbread itself was great and so simple! The only thing that I find questionable is the actual recipe itself. I picked up a box of Jiffy cornbread muffin mix (8.5 oz) and realized the recipe only calls for one box. Basically the recipe has the same ingredients as on the box just adding sugar and cream corn so how in the world do you put it in a 9x13 pan and it turn out successful??!! I don't know it didn't sound right like maybe it was a misprint so I played it safe and baked it in an 8x8 pan for about 35 mins and it was perfect. So simple yet so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Like other reviewers suggested, I doubled all the ingredients except the cream corn. Delish. I put it in a 8x8 pan and served with chili. It is a sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very easy and delicious - however it is plenty sweet enough with only 2 tbls. brown sugar. 1/3c. is overkill. Also, I found that storing leftovers covered overnight leads to a very moist, unappetizing mush, but it is easily made delicious again by toasting slices in a pan on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Didn't change a thing in this recipe and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esrodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Yummy! Quick and easy! I added one can of 14.75oz creamed corn and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States