Camotes al Horno (Baked Yams) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
The honey went so well with the yam! I had one huge yam, so I just slliced it up first and put the butter and honey over the yam in the dish...worked out great! Hard to leave alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
My family liked this simple recipe. I even simplified it more by cutting the potatoes into scalloped slices after they were boiled, and just drizzling the ingredients over them. I then baked them in the oven until hot. They were very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I followed the directions, used a small yam, and still came up with yams that were rock hard. Make sure that the tubers are soft when removed from the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA
Living In: Newport Coast, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Well, I did this wrong. Use small yams, and bake them whole. Else they get tough. Try some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I didn't care for these much when I first had them. Then I forgot a couple of cut up yams in the oven (worst thing I could do) but after about half an hour, when I realized my mistake, I tasted absolutely delicious yams. Never tasted as good. These need to be baked longer. Fabulous. Thanks. Even my 6 month old loved the creamy insides:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have got to learn to read all the reviews before making a dish! My yam was too large so I cut it into 1 1/2" to 2" slices. I had to boil them for over 20 minutes before they were tender. I baked them as directed, but found them way underdone. Then I read the reviews. So I baked them more... and then some more. Finally I just ended up mashing and covering them with honey, sugar, cinnamon, and whipped cream. I guess I just don't like the natural flavor of yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
i like this recipe because it's a new way for me to make yams while keeping them semi-healthy & recognizable (not a mashed casserole with excessive trimmings). i made a half recipe, boiled my tubers until they had a little give to them then took the hint from the 1/14/04 reviewer & cut my yams into scallops before baking them. that worked well for presentation purposes as this was a side dish for our thanksgiving dinner. next time we'll try them whole. thanks alenita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My hubby who doesn't eat yams or sweet potatoes loved this. My kids, well, not so much. I went pretty easy on the toppings, so maybe next time, I will put a bit more. I baked my yams in a 350 oven for over an hour, and they were still firm in the thicker spots. We shared one that was done, I left the others in the oven until soft, and now I have lunch for the next few days. Easy to transport, nutritious, and easy to reheat, even tastes good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati
Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
We have these often and they are always delicious. They are a great accompaniment. Much better and healthier than the marshmallow version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
These were delicious. The honey really makes this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States