Camotes al Horno (Baked Yams) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
The honey went so well with the yam! I had one huge yam, so I just slliced it up first and put the butter and honey over the yam in the dish...worked out great! Hard to leave alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Well, I did this wrong. Use small yams, and bake them whole. Else they get tough. Try some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
My family liked this simple recipe. I even simplified it more by cutting the potatoes into scalloped slices after they were boiled, and just drizzling the ingredients over them. I then baked them in the oven until hot. They were very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
These were delicious. The honey really makes this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I followed the directions, used a small yam, and still came up with yams that were rock hard. Make sure that the tubers are soft when removed from the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA
Living In: Newport Coast, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I didn't care for these much when I first had them. Then I forgot a couple of cut up yams in the oven (worst thing I could do) but after about half an hour, when I realized my mistake, I tasted absolutely delicious yams. Never tasted as good. These need to be baked longer. Fabulous. Thanks. Even my 6 month old loved the creamy insides:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
i like this recipe because it's a new way for me to make yams while keeping them semi-healthy & recognizable (not a mashed casserole with excessive trimmings). i made a half recipe, boiled my tubers until they had a little give to them then took the hint from the 1/14/04 reviewer & cut my yams into scallops before baking them. that worked well for presentation purposes as this was a side dish for our thanksgiving dinner. next time we'll try them whole. thanks alenita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Yum! I can actually taste the flavor of the potatoes instead of mashing it up with loads of sugar and tasting only that. Thanks for the simple yet satisfying recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
We have these often and they are always delicious. They are a great accompaniment. Much better and healthier than the marshmallow version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have got to learn to read all the reviews before making a dish! My yam was too large so I cut it into 1 1/2" to 2" slices. I had to boil them for over 20 minutes before they were tender. I baked them as directed, but found them way underdone. Then I read the reviews. So I baked them more... and then some more. Finally I just ended up mashing and covering them with honey, sugar, cinnamon, and whipped cream. I guess I just don't like the natural flavor of yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States