Cameroonian Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Couldn't have been simpler, and was a great spin on a spinach side dish. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I prepare spinach like this routinely, sometimes with mushrooms, sometimes without, and always with fresh minced garlic. This was the first time using shitake mushrooms, however, and I liked the firmer, more substantive texture and earthy flavor they contributed (even though they sort of look like slugs). Five to seven minutes is too long a cooking time - a few minutes should do it, just until the spinach wilts and retains its vibrant green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Quick, easy, and tasty. I used a LOT of garlic powder to get it to taste the way I wanted it to, so maybe minced fresh garlic would be a better choice for people who like a lot of flavor. This is going to replace my normal, boring spinach at the dinner table from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Only 4 stars since I added to it: I used fresh garlic, added a tsp or so of lemon juice, a dash of crushed red pepper and a dash or two of Worcestershire sauce to jazz it up. It was very good. My husband wrinkled up his nose at it until he tasted it, he thought he only liked canned spinach. He had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is so delicious! Don't be shy with the garlic powder, though. I was not disappointed in the taste and I don't really even like shitake mushrooms. The shitakes are an excellent ingredient in this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was fast and easy. I used canned sliced button mushrooms and only a quarter of an onion. I had to add more olive oil though. I did sprinkle a bit of salt over the dish as it cooked. This was good but needed more flavor or something to pep it up. Thanks, we enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
It's delicious. And yeah, definitely use frozen spinach; it's 1/10th the cost of "fresh" and really, I only consider something fresh if it's been picked the same day I use it. Bagged spinach has been sitting on a truck, then in a store for days if not a week or more, losing all it's nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Looking for a different way to use my shiitake mushrooms, I decided to try this recipe. It was so good, my bf loved it. I also tried adding squares of aubergine and it was soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANAGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I love this recipe! Since my girls don't like mushrooms, I have replaced them with carrots sliced thin so they cook at the same rate as the onion. I also added basil and oregano to give it more flavor... but not too much - you don't want to over-power the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Pretty good. Only change made was to use button mushrooms instead of shiitake as I don't like the woodsy flavor they have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States