Cameroonian Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is so delicious! Don't be shy with the garlic powder, though. I was not disappointed in the taste and I don't really even like shitake mushrooms. The shitakes are an excellent ingredient in this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I prepare spinach like this routinely, sometimes with mushrooms, sometimes without, and always with fresh minced garlic. This was the first time using shitake mushrooms, however, and I liked the firmer, more substantive texture and earthy flavor they contributed (even though they sort of look like slugs). Five to seven minutes is too long a cooking time - a few minutes should do it, just until the spinach wilts and retains its vibrant green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
It's delicious. And yeah, definitely use frozen spinach; it's 1/10th the cost of "fresh" and really, I only consider something fresh if it's been picked the same day I use it. Bagged spinach has been sitting on a truck, then in a store for days if not a week or more, losing all it's nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I went heavy on the shiitake mushrooms and added a bit of salt, but otherwise prepared it as described. Really yummy, easy, quick, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
A nice change of pace from the regular spinach dish. I added some parmesan for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Couldn't have been simpler, and was a great spin on a spinach side dish. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Quick, easy, and tasty. I used a LOT of garlic powder to get it to taste the way I wanted it to, so maybe minced fresh garlic would be a better choice for people who like a lot of flavor. This is going to replace my normal, boring spinach at the dinner table from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Love that it's so easy, love that it's so simple, love that it's so delicious, love that it's so healthy!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Excellent, we loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Looking for a different way to use my shiitake mushrooms, I decided to try this recipe. It was so good, my bf loved it. I also tried adding squares of aubergine and it was soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANAGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States