Cameroonian Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Excellent, we loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I prepare spinach like this routinely, sometimes with mushrooms, sometimes without, and always with fresh minced garlic. This was the first time using shitake mushrooms, however, and I liked the firmer, more substantive texture and earthy flavor they contributed (even though they sort of look like slugs). Five to seven minutes is too long a cooking time - a few minutes should do it, just until the spinach wilts and retains its vibrant green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Couldn't have been simpler, and was a great spin on a spinach side dish. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Quick, easy, and tasty. I used a LOT of garlic powder to get it to taste the way I wanted it to, so maybe minced fresh garlic would be a better choice for people who like a lot of flavor. This is going to replace my normal, boring spinach at the dinner table from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Love that it's so easy, love that it's so simple, love that it's so delicious, love that it's so healthy!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Looking for a different way to use my shiitake mushrooms, I decided to try this recipe. It was so good, my bf loved it. I also tried adding squares of aubergine and it was soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANAGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is so delicious! Don't be shy with the garlic powder, though. I was not disappointed in the taste and I don't really even like shitake mushrooms. The shitakes are an excellent ingredient in this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
A nice change of pace from the regular spinach dish. I added some parmesan for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
It's delicious. And yeah, definitely use frozen spinach; it's 1/10th the cost of "fresh" and really, I only consider something fresh if it's been picked the same day I use it. Bagged spinach has been sitting on a truck, then in a store for days if not a week or more, losing all it's nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I went heavy on the shiitake mushrooms and added a bit of salt, but otherwise prepared it as described. Really yummy, easy, quick, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States