Cameo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a big cake like they used to make long time ago. It was delicious although a little dense. I would make it again even though it is a little complicated and time consumming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this cake before and it was awesome..yes it's a big cake but it was delicious and well received by my family. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I have made this cake a few times, and it is delicious. It is a little complicated if you are normally a box cake kind of person. I won grand champion at our county fair and it went for big bucks. I have passed this on to many other people and they have all loved it. It doesn't have a strong chocolate taste, but it is wonderful, although a bit pricey for all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Everyone loves this cake, white chocolate lover or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
A basically good cake but this recipe needs some refinement. I make it yesterday for my boyfriend's birthday... it made a 3-layer cake as the recipe stated and it was a very dense cake.....although moist. The flavour was OK but I feel that it needed more of the white chocolate flavour in the cake itself. The icing was very sweet and also needed more of the white chocolate flavour and a way to cut the almost overpowering sweetness. If I were to make this recipe again I would downsize it to a 2-layer cake... the 3-layer was ungainly to handle and with the three layers, too big a slice for people, even sliced very thin, which was dicfficult to do. Maybe a tube or bundt pan plus cupcakes would be better instead of three layers??? The icing recipe made a lot of icing and I have a bunch left over and I used a lot on the cake too! We love icing! The cake goes well with fresh strawberries but as I discovered yesterday, do not put sliced fresh strawberries between the layers as they cause the cake to slide around! I fed 10 people and have a big chunk leftover but a lot of the pieces had to be thrown out as people could not eat that much cake! Live and learn! I think I might try this one again but on a smaller scale as not to waste these delicious and expensive ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I didn't taste much white chocolate in this cake at all. It was not any thing like I thought it would be, for advanced cooks it would be a fairly simple cake to make althought it was not quick. The cake itself was very dense and resembled a hummingbird cake and the icing tasted more like a cream cheese icing than a mixture of white chocolate and cream cheese. Also the recipe made way more than was needed for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDGREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
I made the cake for one of our employees who was leaving our company and who was also allergic to milk chocolate. This was an excellent cake that everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
I made this cake for mother's day and she LOVED it. It is an excellent mix of nuts and white chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States