Cambodian Tapioca-Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This recipe was fantastic - however after reading the review where the person said it took 45 minutes to cook, I decided to soak the tapiaco overnight and my cooked fine as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Good recipe. I love all the ingedients. I didn't follow the recipe exactly as I know the pearls I use cook quite quickly. As with any recipe use sense. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was fantastic, just like the pudding in the Vietnamese restaurants. I added 1 1/2 cups (440g) crushed pineapple instead of bananas though, which went really well - pina colada-ish! Next time I would add just a little more tapioca though, just to make it a little less runny, but overall everyone loved it, and it was so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
im cambodian and we make this sometimes.. its not really supposed to be that thick like pudding you can also make ths with sweet potato or other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is exactly how my mother, who is from Vietnam, used to make it for me when I was a child-YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly. It took way way way too long to make. My small pearl tapioca didn't turn transparent for 45 minutes. Now that it is finally done, the final product looks unapetizing and tastes as bad. Sorry, really not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was a fun recipe. I've never used tapioca before, and the only tapioca pudding I've ever had was the Jell-O pudding cups. This was so much better than that! I didn't have coconut milk, so I used regular milk and added some coconut. Next time I would just follow the recipe, the coconut added a funny texture. As written, this recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Positively delicious! I was searching for a non-smoothie idea to use up a partial can of coconut milk and some bananas and ran across this. I had no tapioca so I adjusted water and used plain rice. I also added a touch of vanilla and did not use salt. Surprisingly fabulous! I thought we would like it. I was not anticipating loving it. I'm eager to try the flavor combination but on a healthier grain as a breakfast option...maybe barley or oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is delicious, also known as "Jaik-a-Thy". Best if prepared with fresh coconut milk and the starchier SE Asian bananas (cubed pumpkin can also be substituted!). If you are using canned, you may need thin it a bit with water and reduce the sugar a tad. If you are making your own coconut milk, reserve some of the "first milk", later warm it and serve over the chilled pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is as basic as it gets. Add whatever fruits you think would compliment the coconut milk. Instead of microwaving, I simmered it for 5-7 minutes then let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States