Cambodian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My kids LOVED this soup. It's got wonderful flavor - chicken, curry, pineapple, and coconut. I made it just as written, but I would suggest only adding about half the rice. It REALLY thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was excellent. It would be good with seafood, too. (I often order a soup called "Fusion" at a local Thai restaurant. It tastes somewhat like this, but is a little more red in color and is slightly sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made it last night. The recipe was easy to follow, the ingredients were easy to find at my local grocer and it was that perfect combination of flavours. I've already shared the recipe with a few people. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I tried this for a new way to use red curry paste. The pineapple was my favorite part about this recipe- adds a great sweet & spicy flavor to it. Like someone else already mentioned, I think it calls for too much rice, but other than that it was great. I made it vegetarian with tofu instead of the chicken, and I might try it with shrimp next time- very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Wish I could give this recipe more than five stars. It is unbelievably good! The combination of chicken, pineapple and rice (I used brown rice) seemed to be lacking in vegetables, so after I made the soup, I took out some of the broth, put it in a small pan and simmered parsnips and celeric (cut into small cubes)in the covered pan until tender. I then added all into the soup and...voila! My husband pronounced it one of the best soups he's ever had. I think snow peas and bamboo shoots would be equally good, but I didn't have those on hand. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myem1108
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
i am cambodian and i have always been intimidated by khmer dishes because my mom cooks so good! anyway, this dish was very good and easy to make, so don't be nervous in trying this out. i followed another viewer's advise and used only 2 cups of rice. i do feel like it is missing some vegetables but i really couldn't think of what would go well w/ it. maybe bell peppers? squash? i don't know...further,i love spicy food so i used 2 whole serrano peppers, minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myem1108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I was looking for a hot and sour soup recipe and came upon this one. Reading the positive reviews, I was encouraged to try it out. I am so glad I did. At first taste, I was intrigued but unsure. At second taste, I was pleased. At third taste I was absolutely delighted. And my husband, who dislikes hot and spicy, really liked this sweet and spicy soup. It's a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annielittlerock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've made a lot of recipes on here but this one is the most memorable. It is excellent and very easy. Kids loved it, I loved it, many of my co-workers have tried and loved it. I've added shrimp which made it irresistable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. I used to get a soup like this at a Cambodian restuarant near me - until it closed down. I do like others and reduce the rice. Sometimes I have it with rice noodles instead. I don't add vegetables just because when I got it at the restaurant they only had sprouts as more of a garnish and I got used to it that way. Southeast Asian food is usually a balance of salty, sweet, sour, hot. I add some salt to this soup. I think the heat is fine. As to the sour and sweet, I use crushed pineapple and don't drain it so it's sour enough. For me, the sugar (sweet) adds balance to the sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I put this in my slow cooker as I was running out the door, starting with cold water and put it on high for 3 hours. I didn't have everything the recipe called for, like fish oil/sauce... also instead of curry paste I used dry ground and also ground ginger; for peppers I slivered and sauted orange & red sweet peppers and a med onion, and added brown rice raw (just over 1/2 C). For the chicken I threw in 2 chicken breast whole. When I got home I pulled out the chicken and shredded coursley w/a knife and returned it to the cooker; lastly I added the can of coconut milk and a can of sweet corn, and served it immediately. It was the perfect consistency. My family raved about it and demanded it go in the "keeper" recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States