Cambodian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. I used to get a soup like this at a Cambodian restuarant near me - until it closed down. I do like others and reduce the rice. Sometimes I have it with rice noodles instead. I don't add vegetables just because when I got it at the restaurant they only had sprouts as more of a garnish and I got used to it that way. Southeast Asian food is usually a balance of salty, sweet, sour, hot. I add some salt to this soup. I think the heat is fine. As to the sour and sweet, I use crushed pineapple and don't drain it so it's sour enough. For me, the sugar (sweet) adds balance to the sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Great tasting dish! Reminds my husband of the red curry at our fave Thai restaurant. I always add lots of veggies: bell pepper, broccoli, bamboo, snow peas; whatever I have on hand. Also I omit the sugar because I think coconut milk is plenty sweet. I use Lite coconut milk and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've made a lot of recipes on here but this one is the most memorable. It is excellent and very easy. Kids loved it, I loved it, many of my co-workers have tried and loved it. I've added shrimp which made it irresistable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
this soup rocks! made it last night and loved it. my husband suggested that steamed carrots and potatoes would be good in this, too. perhaps some white onion in the saute? i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I was looking for a hot and sour soup recipe and came upon this one. Reading the positive reviews, I was encouraged to try it out. I am so glad I did. At first taste, I was intrigued but unsure. At second taste, I was pleased. At third taste I was absolutely delighted. And my husband, who dislikes hot and spicy, really liked this sweet and spicy soup. It's a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annielittlerock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good! I needed to add some salt just to make the flavors pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is pretty good. I've made it a few times, never having every ingredient, and it's always turned out really tasty. It can get a little like a mush sometimes, but the flavors are really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myem1108
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
i am cambodian and i have always been intimidated by khmer dishes because my mom cooks so good! anyway, this dish was very good and easy to make, so don't be nervous in trying this out. i followed another viewer's advise and used only 2 cups of rice. i do feel like it is missing some vegetables but i really couldn't think of what would go well w/ it. maybe bell peppers? squash? i don't know...further,i love spicy food so i used 2 whole serrano peppers, minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myem1108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Wish I could give this recipe more than five stars. It is unbelievably good! The combination of chicken, pineapple and rice (I used brown rice) seemed to be lacking in vegetables, so after I made the soup, I took out some of the broth, put it in a small pan and simmered parsnips and celeric (cut into small cubes)in the covered pan until tender. I then added all into the soup and...voila! My husband pronounced it one of the best soups he's ever had. I think snow peas and bamboo shoots would be equally good, but I didn't have those on hand. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I tried this for a new way to use red curry paste. The pineapple was my favorite part about this recipe- adds a great sweet & spicy flavor to it. Like someone else already mentioned, I think it calls for too much rice, but other than that it was great. I made it vegetarian with tofu instead of the chicken, and I might try it with shrimp next time- very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States