Cambodian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is sooo good. I had no idea what to expect. I chose this recipe based on ingredients I had on hand. When I got down to it, I did not have any pineapple, so I cut up three bananas and added them instead. They cooked down sweet and starchy, like a potato. The soup is rich, sweet, spicy and mmm, mmm, satisfying. I can't wait to make it again using pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I travel to Cambodia and this is a close taste to what I have tried there. I did add sweet potatoe, zucchini and baby corn. Omitted the rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Super Flavor! Very Yummy! I agreed with other raters...it needed more veggies. I went ahead and added diced up sweet potatoes, zucchini and yellow onions to give it more body. It made it a hearty and very delicious soup! 5 stars with adding the veggies in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I served this at a dinner party this weekend and everyone raved! I halved the amount of rice but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Deliciously different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Good soup. A little too different for my Mother, who typically loves Asian food. I liked it and would make it again. I used half the rice called for and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was sooooo good, jasmine rice, and bamboo shoots are some of my recomendations to add to it and it is a meal to stuff yourself with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Ulmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I put this in my slow cooker as I was running out the door, starting with cold water and put it on high for 3 hours. I didn't have everything the recipe called for, like fish oil/sauce... also instead of curry paste I used dry ground and also ground ginger; for peppers I slivered and sauted orange & red sweet peppers and a med onion, and added brown rice raw (just over 1/2 C). For the chicken I threw in 2 chicken breast whole. When I got home I pulled out the chicken and shredded coursley w/a knife and returned it to the cooker; lastly I added the can of coconut milk and a can of sweet corn, and served it immediately. It was the perfect consistency. My family raved about it and demanded it go in the "keeper" recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. I used to get a soup like this at a Cambodian restuarant near me - until it closed down. I do like others and reduce the rice. Sometimes I have it with rice noodles instead. I don't add vegetables just because when I got it at the restaurant they only had sprouts as more of a garnish and I got used to it that way. Southeast Asian food is usually a balance of salty, sweet, sour, hot. I add some salt to this soup. I think the heat is fine. As to the sour and sweet, I use crushed pineapple and don't drain it so it's sour enough. For me, the sugar (sweet) adds balance to the sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Great tasting dish! Reminds my husband of the red curry at our fave Thai restaurant. I always add lots of veggies: bell pepper, broccoli, bamboo, snow peas; whatever I have on hand. Also I omit the sugar because I think coconut milk is plenty sweet. I use Lite coconut milk and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've made a lot of recipes on here but this one is the most memorable. It is excellent and very easy. Kids loved it, I loved it, many of my co-workers have tried and loved it. I've added shrimp which made it irresistable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States