Camarones al Ajillo (Garlic Shrimp) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was a great recipe and a definite keeper. We live on the coast in Brazil and shrimp is one of the major food groups here. My wife does not like hot stuff so I left out the red pepper flakes and used fresh parsley instead of dried. This will be one we make for the next time we entertain. We made saffron rice (rice cooked a little sauteed onion and cooked in chicken broth with a little saffron) and covered it with the shrimp. I just did not have the courage to pour this over the banana deal without making a batch to try first. We will give it a shot this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Absolutely Amazing! No changes needed. Perfect. I served this with yellow saffron rice!! Delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very good...I didn't add as much garlic as the recipe called for, but it was still delicious served over yellow rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious dish. A bit heavy on the butter. Didn't have green pepper so I added blanched bok choy instead at the same time as when I added in the tomato sauce. May try to reduce or eliminate the butter next time for a more healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very tasty, I used red bell instead of green and fresh parsley (because that's what I had) and reduced the butter, as well as added a jalapeno. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I used 3 Jalapenos instead of the green bell pepper. Turned out great. I put this over a bed of yellow rice and the wife and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimjoebob99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Yum! I made this for my Puerto Rican girlfriend and she 100% approved! Just a few notes. First, tomato sauce is not the same thing as you'd put on spaghetti. It's actually more of a purée. Look for Goya tomato sauce in little cans. Also, I'm assuming "fresh" shrimp means uncooked. I couldn't find any uncooked shrimp on sale, so I added cooked shrimp, but not until the final 5 minutes when the tomato sauce went in. Any earlier than that and the shrimp will get mushy. I served over white rice, and if you want the full experience, make some plantain slices fried in olive oil as the side. There was a decent amount of leftovers even after 2 large plates each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Oh my goodness. This was great. I used a can of chopped jalapanos instead of green peppers. I will be making this again. It was so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this dish today and it was easy and tastes good, I made some rice beside but i think pasta would suit it better, thank u :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great shrimp recipe and so simple. I always like to put a little bit of anchovy paste in when I saute vegetables. You can't tell there are anchovies in there at all, it just gives it a nutty, salty flavor. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States