Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My husband raved out these calzones. I used a stand mixer with a dough hook attachment instead of a bread machine. I allowed the dough to rise in a warm oven and then rolled out the dough. I also added some dried basil, oregano, and a pinch of garlic powder to the dough. I made two large rectangular calzones and had left over dough. I sealed the dough and froze it for future use. In the calzone I added some ricotta cheese to the mix. Its a versatile dough so you could be creative with the filling. My husband requests that we have these again soon. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I think this is a pretty decent recipe, and I will most definitely make it again. That being said, I did make some changes to the recipe: I let the dough rest for 30 min. after it came out of the bread machine because it was too elastic to roll out right away. I also folded in some garlic powder, salt, and crumbled Italian herbs into the dough before I rolled it out. I put garlic powder into the melted butter that I brushed on top, and I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on top of that. I thought the calzone was just a touch too bready, so next time I will discard about a third of the dough before rolling it out to make the ratio more to my liking. This is a fun recipe to play with! EDITED TO ADD: I decided that I didn't want to throw out the extra dough, so I ended up splitting the dough in half to make 2 separate calzones for us all. Worked out beautifully and eliminated the waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Excellent! I was looking for a new calzone dough recipe & this was perfect ~ much better than the one I had been using. I didn't criss cross the dough ~ just folded it over ~ & it turned out just fine. Also sprinkled some Parmesan cheese on top after brushing with butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very good. The dough came out a bit thick, but that's an easy fix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is such a good calzone recipe and it is SOO much fun to make. It looks like restaurant quality when it comes out of the oven- my family loved it! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It is a little difficult to eat due to the toughness of the bread but it was good. I am glad I sprinkled the bread with garlic powder before baking because the bread wouldn't have had any flavor otherwise. It was much easier to eat reheated the next day when the bread was a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
easy and yummy...i doubled the recipe which made 2 big calzones and gave us some leftovers for lunch. Also used mozzarella cheese and cheddar cheese mixed. to cut the dough tomake the braid I cut it about 10 times on each side. After basting with melted butter I sprinkled garlic seasoning on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny in China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I added turkey pepperoni and a little spinach... awesome. My husband it looked too good to eat...well almost because he almost forgot to save some for me and ate it all. You can put almost anything inside. I might try broccoli and cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Yum! Husband and I loved this recipe! The dough makes an awesome crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States