Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
One classic error here is the cooking temperature and time. As with any pizza style food, it must be cooked at a VERY HIGH TEMP FOR A SHORT TIME. This recipe produces a dough that tastes undercooked and is mushy in the middle. It is far preferable to cook the calzone at a bake temp of 500 F for 20 minutes. The dough will be golden brown and crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. And don't worry, the contents will be plenty cooked. Also, use only a little sauce inside. It cooks far better the drier it is. You can always heat some sauce and serve it on the side or drizzled over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is very easy. I have made this many times, only thing I have changed is the filling and shape. I have made individual Calzones and one big one, all comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
We use this recipe about once every two weeks. It is a great recipe and I never had to add any flour or water - it always turns out perfect. I don't ever keep milk powder so I just replace some of the water with a little milk. A full recipe easily serves a family of four. Everyone can make their own calzone and put in it what they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carina
Photo by Mrs. Mayfield
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This recipe was delicious. I cut the dough into 4 pieces and filled it with cheddar cheese, parm cheese and ground beef. I added italian seasoning to the mixture to give it more flavor. I didnt have dry milk so I used 1/2t of 1% milk. I will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Moody Afb, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetascandice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Excellent recipe. Easy but very tasty and it allows for a lot of variations. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sanborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Photo by lorena
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I don't own a bread machine but i think it's not absolutely necessary to have one in this recipe. Added 1/2 water and 1/2 milk (no milk powder), 1 teaspoon granulated garlic, 1 teaspoon dried oregano and a tablespoon olive oil. It's a great base recipe, try different ingredients for the filling. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe. I divided the dough to make four separate calzones. Also, I will add a little less sugar next time, as I thought the dough was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
When I served this to my husband, he told me "This is the best calzone I've ever had! If we were at a restaurant, I'd say we have to come back here!" I split the dough in half, so that we could each have our own and I could use different fillings. Because I didn't want extra work, I didn't cut the dough and lace it as described. I folded it in half, as I have seen done, and folded over the edges, as though it were a pie. I cut 3 slits on top of each and brushed the top with butter and sprinkled it with garlic powder, oregano and basil. It was absolutely delicious! So good, in fact, that I had to make it a second time a couple of days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I just got my bread machine and have not had much luck with any of the recipes I've tried. I was about ready to just give the thing away. Yesterday, I decided to give it one last shot and made this recipe. I did make a few minor modifications but it was WONDERFUL! I didn't have powdered milk so I used 1/4 cup warm 2% milk in place of 1/4 cup of water. I also took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning and 1 tsp. of garlic to the dough. I checked the doughball at the beginning of the second knead and it looked fine but when I peeked in after it was done kneading, it was a mess. Looked like something had exploded and the dough looked more like pancake batter and was incredibly sticky. It was too late to add anything at that point (it was finished kneading) so I just let it go. When the dough cycle was done, I got some flour on my hands and pulled out a handful of the sticky mess. I kneaded in a little more flour by hand at that point and it suddenly looked just like pizza dough! Since I had to work with the dough in small batches, I made 4 good sized calzones (my husband and I each shared one with one of the kids and we were all full with two whole ones leftover). I did put some pizza sauce inside along with shredded cheese, pepperoni and sausage then folded the dough over and pinched to seal. I cut slits in the top to vent then brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with garlic powder and parmesan cheese. I only had to b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States