Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
i LUV this recipe my family actually requests it but 1 question........ has anyone tried to freeze it... put it together but dont cook it then when u want it warm it up?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananazrck98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Oh my gosh!!! Duuuuude this is soooo worth trying!!! This is the most formidable recipe ever witnessed by my eyes. I made this recipe and my husband and kids downed them in 1 hour. Maybe thats because my husband is 453 pounds, and my older daughter is 220 pounds, and my younger son is 376 pounds. I don't know either way I'll bet your butt that your family will love em'. Boo ya!! Please try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was realley Good! I took out 2/3 cup white flour and replaced it with wheat flour. I also added Italian herbs and spices to the dough. I made the dough in the bread machine then divided it I only maked 1/4 of the dough the rest went to the freezer. I rolled it realley thin and filled it then baked it on my pizza stone. It was readey in 15-20 min. I put cornmeal on the stone to keep it from sticking and it worked accept where the sauce came out on one side it stuck a little. Will use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
ABSOLUTLY BRILLIANT!!! I have never used our bread machine until this recipe. I became inspired after trying these calzones!! They were absolutly wonderful. My husband won't stop raving to his friends about my "homemade calzones". The dough worked perfectly in our high elevation, too! We love supreme pizza in my house, so I added red onion, sausage, canadian bacon, black olives, mushrooms and green pepper. I was a big hit that night. Needless to say, no left overs made it! LOL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Celaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I am giving this 5 Stars, but I did make some beginner mistakes so I thought I would list my mistakes to help others. First, I follow recipes exactly and think it would have been great. But... I told the hubby what I was putting on it and he said great. Rolled out the dough, put on the sauce, cheeze, pepperoni, olives. Then, he says, hey I want sauteed mushrooms! So, sauteed mushrooms are prepared and added to the prepared calzone. But wait, we are not done, now he wants bacon. So bacon is added. Now, the sauce has run and needs to be dabbed up with paper towels and the dough has risen. So I wrapped and baked. It turned out good, but much larged then any calzone I have every seen. LOL! I am still giving it 5 stars though. Will definately make again, will just make sure "ALL" ingrediants are ready before assembly and once assembly begins, no additions allowed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I didn't make my own dough. I bought pizza dough. And I used other toppings, as well, in addition to the pepperoni. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supercocoa17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I wanted to try a recipe for beef stew calzones from a past issue of Every Day with Rachael Ray that called for a store-bought dough, but I decided to make my own instead. This recipe for dough was very good. I made the dough by hand, and also used milk in the place of water and dry milk powder, as I didn't have any on hand. This seemed to work just fine, everyone liked them alot. I look forward to trying the filling part of this recipe with the dough in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I use this dough for EVERYTHING! It's so versatile. Like other reviewers I do NOT use a bread machine. I proof the yeast for about 10-15 minutes, mix everything else in, and let rise about 30-45 minutes. Some of our favorite fillings are - Shredded chicken, BBQ sauce, and cheese. Taco meat, refried beans, cheese, salsa and olives Diced Chicken, Chipotle Sauce, bacon, cheese Just to name a few...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Fantastic! I followed others suggestions. I added Italian seasoning, garlic salt, onion salt and granulated garlic to the dough with garlic and Italian sprinkled on top of the butter. Used one less T. of water. When the dough was done, I put it in a bowl in the fridge for 3 hours while I was gone. We are not fans of pepperoni and so I didn't have any. I made a sloppy joe filling. Rolled dough out as stated and cut it into 4ths. Put a heaping 1/2 cup on each plus cheese, then folded over and under like pie crust and used a fork to seal. Let rest on the stove for 15 minutes. These bake bigger so next time I will cut it into 6 pieces. My dh said "don't make them any other way!" Oh but the ideas are endless. I LOVED the dough, can't wait to dip it in spaghetti sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I have been making a version of this for years. I thought I had made it up in my head! I don't go to all the trouble of the bread flour. I just use crescent rolls and use a rolling pin and did two per can. Always turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States