Calzone Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! Don't discard the end pieces; that would be such a waste. Do use a rectangular pan with high sides. Serve with pizza sauce for dipping. DBF is a vegetarian, so I left out the pepperoni. To test out the recipe, I halved it this first run. The dough was difficult to knead, but that may have been due to my mods. Mods: Replaced shortening with olive oil. Added a quarter teaspoon of garlic powder to the dough. Used 1/2 a cup of whole milk instead of milk powder and replaced the same volume of water. I used a little more veggies. Added three cloves of garlic in with the peppers and onions. Mushrooms were diced and cooked first, then the other veggies were added. No olives used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Not enough sauce and cheese. I'm not sure what it was but my family did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie McComb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This recipe was excellent, I did change things around a little bit, I simplified it a little bit. I didn't use the onion mixture as we aren't fans of a lot of onions, and I didn't have time, I was making it as a fast meal and so I just stuck to the basics. I don't have a bread machine so I just used a kitchen aid mixer. I also was pressed for time so I didn't have time to let them rise for the 30 min. and they still turned out great. I put sauce and mozz. cheese and pepperoni on one, and sauce, cheese, and sausage on the other. Everyone in the family loved them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Tasty recipe! Just be careful how full you make the dough before rolling. We kinda overfilled ours, but it was still very yummy, just a bit messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I had on hand one package premade refrigerated pizza dough from Trader Joe's, (Garlic & Herb). Nice flavor, but it was not enough, so it only made 9 small rolls. Next time I'll try the recipe dough as it is written. Loved the filling just as written. I baked the rolls in greased oversized muffin tins and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I don't know why I never thought of doing this . . .fun, and cute. A little messy when cutting due to the sauce, but I had to clean the kitchen anyway, so no big. The dough is very nice--light, soft, good consistency, and rises very well and fast. I did use my bread machine for the dough, which was easy, but it wouldve been just as easy to do it by hand or in the Kitchen Aid. I'm running out of certain ingredients, so I left out the peppers, mushrooms and olives, but they worked out fine anyway. I made 8 of them and put 4 each in an 8x8 pan so I wouldnt' end up with undone middle rolls and burned outer rolls. They baked up perfectly in 20 minutes. I used the rest of the dough to make a calzone (followed the instructions for a braid using the Calzone recipe from here). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Very Good!! You can use whatever toppings you like, I made a double batch and will freeze some for easy lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I am giving the dough a four stars. The pizza filling wasn't that strong, it really tasted more like a roll with pizza flavoring not rolled up pizza. The dough however was amazingly soft. I don't have a bread machine so I made it by hand and let it rise once then followed the directions of the recipe. I am using this dough to make cinnamon rolls because it's so light and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldenacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. This was amazingly delicious, and really quite simple! I made all kinds of variations, but won't hog space by sharing all of that info. Just have fun playing with this recipe. Use your leftovers, spaghetti sauce, sloppy joes, BBQ chicken, you name it. My husband thanks you, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Maziarka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States