Calypso Rice and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Absolutely delish! I made the rice with vegetable broth instead of water, and substituted a little sage and lime zest for the coriander I didn't have. This was a great base for a meal with my non-vegan boyfriend. He had pineapple grilled pork chops, I had grilled tofu chunks on top. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I really like this dish. I serve it alongside grilled kabobs of chicken, red peppers, onion, and fresh pineapple. I marinate the chicken with some jerk seasoning. Served with a tropical drink (preferrebly including rum!), and I feel like I'm in the Carribean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Bandstra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I was very disappointed by this recipe. Like another reviewer said it smelled great while cooking, but ended up tasting bland. I reduced the cooking time and it still ended up mushy. I served it with Jay's Jerk Chicken and bbq pineapple. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This had nice flavors in it, but it still tasted bland as though it needed more salt, and I even subbed chicken broth for half of the water! I scaled this down to 4 servings (for two people). Used a can of drained black beans rather than going through the process of cooking beans, and I doubled the jalapeno. Used brown basmati and didn't experience the mushiness that some reviewers mentioned. Served with Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Hit the spot and worked very well with the cajun steak and mexican cornbread that were served at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
It was good, but bland, and the recipe calls for too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
make sure you use a really good nonstick pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I would cut back on the cooking time on this one, the rice got overcooked and a little mushy. It could also use a bit more salt. Otherwise a good side dish for caribbean cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
ive made this recipe twice now. both times i used a full can of black beans and skipped that 12 minutes of cooking time at the end, and this time i used a can of drained crushed pineapple instead of spears. i love the flavors, and the dish looks very festive and tropical. wonderful flavors, worth the work. it makes ALOT. great for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I didn't have jalepeno or red pepper, so I used green chiles and green pepper. I also did not have any bay leaves. I added some chili powder to kick up the spices a notch, but overall, I wasn't too impressed with this. It was good, but nothing I would rush to make again. It seemed a little too salty. I'm sure it would be better with the red pepper that I didn't have, but I would definitely play around with the spices next time as I'm not sure I liked the combo. The flavor and smell of the basmati rice was excellent though; I'd never had it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States