Calypso Rice and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Absolutely delish! I made the rice with vegetable broth instead of water, and substituted a little sage and lime zest for the coriander I didn't have. This was a great base for a meal with my non-vegan boyfriend. He had pineapple grilled pork chops, I had grilled tofu chunks on top. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I really like this dish. I serve it alongside grilled kabobs of chicken, red peppers, onion, and fresh pineapple. I marinate the chicken with some jerk seasoning. Served with a tropical drink (preferrebly including rum!), and I feel like I'm in the Carribean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Bandstra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I was very disappointed by this recipe. Like another reviewer said it smelled great while cooking, but ended up tasting bland. I reduced the cooking time and it still ended up mushy. I served it with Jay's Jerk Chicken and bbq pineapple. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This had nice flavors in it, but it still tasted bland as though it needed more salt, and I even subbed chicken broth for half of the water! I scaled this down to 4 servings (for two people). Used a can of drained black beans rather than going through the process of cooking beans, and I doubled the jalapeno. Used brown basmati and didn't experience the mushiness that some reviewers mentioned. Served with Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Hit the spot and worked very well with the cajun steak and mexican cornbread that were served at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
It was good, but bland, and the recipe calls for too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
make sure you use a really good nonstick pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I would cut back on the cooking time on this one, the rice got overcooked and a little mushy. It could also use a bit more salt. Otherwise a good side dish for caribbean cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
ive made this recipe twice now. both times i used a full can of black beans and skipped that 12 minutes of cooking time at the end, and this time i used a can of drained crushed pineapple instead of spears. i love the flavors, and the dish looks very festive and tropical. wonderful flavors, worth the work. it makes ALOT. great for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I didn't have jalepeno or red pepper, so I used green chiles and green pepper. I also did not have any bay leaves. I added some chili powder to kick up the spices a notch, but overall, I wasn't too impressed with this. It was good, but nothing I would rush to make again. It seemed a little too salty. I'm sure it would be better with the red pepper that I didn't have, but I would definitely play around with the spices next time as I'm not sure I liked the combo. The flavor and smell of the basmati rice was excellent though; I'd never had it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States