Calypso Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I did these muffins 2 days ago and it did not turn out good at all! I used muffin liners and all the muffins were stuck on the liners, I am thinking maybe because the recipe does not call for any butter. Anyhow, I think all the ingredients don't really mix well... the banana, coconut, pineapple and oats - it should even maybe be sweeter, I don't know. Maybe pineapple and coconut do mix, I did not really like these - sorry,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chavela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I realized after I'd mixed these that there's no fat (butter or oil) in them. I'm assuming the coconut milk is the sub for that. I did use authentic canned coconut milk. These muffins completely stuck to the paper liners and had a weird texture. I didn't like the smell or taste either. They did not taste like pineapple, coconut or banana. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This recipe is good - I used applesauce instead of pineapple and added shredded coconut. Lovely tropical flavour with a chewy exterior and soft, fluffy inside. My girls loved them with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is one of those recipes that sounded so good but was a disappointment. They turned out very mushy inside even with extra cooking time added on. The flavors were too mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I made this recipe exactly how it was published and it smelled and tasted a little strange. I don't think the pineapple mixed well with the other parts. Other than that they were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very weird...texture wise...were exteremly tough. Maybe something I did wrong...though I did follow the recipe as it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I played with this recipe a bit to suit me, but they came out tasting pretty decent. I used skim milk instead of coconut and upped the extract to a full teaspoon to try to balance that, I used upwards of 1/2 teaspoon I'd say of fresh grated nutmeg, used about 12 ounces of pineapple, and used brown sugar instead of white because I just like brown sugar. My muffins looked gorgeous in the oven, but then fell flat once I pulled them out. They were browned on top but kind of raw on the inside, too. I don't know if that will fix itself overnight, but the flavor isn't bad. It's a bunch of mild flavors coming at you, but they don't all hit you at once...they're nice. I think I'll like them more if they firm up and aren't so soggy. Dates would be AMAZING in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
We loved these! I used whole wheat pastry flour and turbinado sugar instead. The second time I made it, I added dark sweet cherries, and it was even better. I had to use vanilla extract, so I added some unsweetened coconut flakes too. I'm sure I'll make these again. Since these don't rise much, just fill the batter all the way to the top for a perfect muffin. I also took the suggestion of cooking the oatmeal in pineapple juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Moist but totally bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
These muffins are great! I modified them by doing half wheat, half white flour and adding a dash of cinnamon. I also used three bananas and most of a 20 oz can of pineapple, because the point of making this recipe was to use them up. One modification I highly recommend is using the drained off pineapple juice for cooking the oatmeal, it adds natural sweetness and gives it a kick. The muffins needed to cook for longer than indicated, closer to 35 or 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States