Calypso Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I did these muffins 2 days ago and it did not turn out good at all! I used muffin liners and all the muffins were stuck on the liners, I am thinking maybe because the recipe does not call for any butter. Anyhow, I think all the ingredients don't really mix well... the banana, coconut, pineapple and oats - it should even maybe be sweeter, I don't know. Maybe pineapple and coconut do mix, I did not really like these - sorry,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chavela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I realized after I'd mixed these that there's no fat (butter or oil) in them. I'm assuming the coconut milk is the sub for that. I did use authentic canned coconut milk. These muffins completely stuck to the paper liners and had a weird texture. I didn't like the smell or taste either. They did not taste like pineapple, coconut or banana. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This recipe is good - I used applesauce instead of pineapple and added shredded coconut. Lovely tropical flavour with a chewy exterior and soft, fluffy inside. My girls loved them with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is one of those recipes that sounded so good but was a disappointment. They turned out very mushy inside even with extra cooking time added on. The flavors were too mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I made this recipe exactly how it was published and it smelled and tasted a little strange. I don't think the pineapple mixed well with the other parts. Other than that they were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very weird...texture wise...were exteremly tough. Maybe something I did wrong...though I did follow the recipe as it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I played with this recipe a bit to suit me, but they came out tasting pretty decent. I used skim milk instead of coconut and upped the extract to a full teaspoon to try to balance that, I used upwards of 1/2 teaspoon I'd say of fresh grated nutmeg, used about 12 ounces of pineapple, and used brown sugar instead of white because I just like brown sugar. My muffins looked gorgeous in the oven, but then fell flat once I pulled them out. They were browned on top but kind of raw on the inside, too. I don't know if that will fix itself overnight, but the flavor isn't bad. It's a bunch of mild flavors coming at you, but they don't all hit you at once...they're nice. I think I'll like them more if they firm up and aren't so soggy. Dates would be AMAZING in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
We loved these! I used whole wheat pastry flour and turbinado sugar instead. The second time I made it, I added dark sweet cherries, and it was even better. I had to use vanilla extract, so I added some unsweetened coconut flakes too. I'm sure I'll make these again. Since these don't rise much, just fill the batter all the way to the top for a perfect muffin. I also took the suggestion of cooking the oatmeal in pineapple juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Moist but totally bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
These muffins are great! I modified them by doing half wheat, half white flour and adding a dash of cinnamon. I also used three bananas and most of a 20 oz can of pineapple, because the point of making this recipe was to use them up. One modification I highly recommend is using the drained off pineapple juice for cooking the oatmeal, it adds natural sweetness and gives it a kick. The muffins needed to cook for longer than indicated, closer to 35 or 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States