Cali's Sinful Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was my first time making creme brulee, and it turned out great! Couple things I did. I heated the cream/sugar/salt over a double boiler until hot, but not boiling. I tempered the eggs as stated in the recipe before adding them to the cream mixture. Once I added the egg mixture, I heated again until hot, but not boiling - then strained into a bowl with a pour spout. I used the water bath as suggested, but did not cover them with the foil. I baked for about 45 minutes, as my ramekins were not the short, wide ones - but the narrower, taller ones (I got 5 out of this recipe). I cooled them for about 10 minutes before refrigerating them. I also brought them to room temp (about 40 minutes) before carmelizing the top. I used the broiler, but I think I will invest in a kitchen torch for the next time, as it made the mixture too hot, and I didn't have time to cool them again before serving. The taste was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Yummmmm. We made the recipe as-is, and caramelized the sugar in the oven. We thought the creme brulee tasted great (with the vanilla as-is). The chocolate was melty, not hard as a rock for us. Although I'm sure it was hard as a rock after chilling in the fridge, putting it in the oven to caramelize the sugar melted it. The amount of sugar in the recipe was too much for our ramekins, ours did not have that much surface area. I would recommend only using enough sugar to just coat the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DessertDave
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this recipe the other day and it turned out great! Definitely a keeper. Following the advice of others, I only sprinkled enough sugar just to coat the top of each ramekin. I also mixed a teaspoon of milk into the melted chocolate in each ramekin to prevent the chocolate from getting too hard in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was great, but a few suggestions: 1. I followed the other's suggestions and halfed the vanilla 2. The chocolate was great, but hard as a rock. I may try melting it in to the cream to make it a chocolate dessert 3. Half the amount of sugar on top. It was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
WOW, so good! I've made this at least 5 times now and every time it gets gobbled up, even if I botch it somehow, I almost scrambled the eggs once and another time I spilled water into it when filling up the water bath and it still got eaten! One thing I always do is double the recipe, you will need to do this if you're serving more than 3 people. I also add a couple of tablespoons of milk to the chocolate so it will spread easier, then I stick it in the freezer until the creme brulee is ready. I find adding one extra egg yolk (to the doubled recipe) gives extra flavor. Make the creme brulee one day before but caramelize/torch the sugar just before you serve it. It's really good when it's just below room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
1 complaint: doesn't make enough! EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good - I loved the twist the chocolate added. Simple but decadent! The vanilla was a bit too much, however. Next time I'll use my own favorite creme brulee recipe and just coat the dishes with melted chocolate. Also I used whole milk (lactaid) with pretty good results - two of them set up well and the other two were a little loose, but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Fun to make BUT it I did everything exactly as said and it turned out to be a liquidly soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ??NAME??

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe says too. So amazing!! I had some recent dental work so I added whipped cream instead of caramelized sugar to a few. So so so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was a great recipe in that the creme brulee was so rich and yummy. I didn't care for the chocolate part only because it took a jackhammer to get to into it. Next time I will try to adapt it with something that won't be so hard when it comes out of the fridge. All in all, it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDA L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Crème Brulee

See how easy it is to make this classic creamy French dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States