California Tortilla Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These were amazing! I loved the fact that they were nice and crispy and still low in calories. I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and sprayed my tortillas with an olive oil spray. I also added some minced garlic to the vegetables as I was cooking them. I topped these with an Italian cheese blend and a little bit of parmesan...they were a huge hit! Even from my non-veggie loving son. I served these with a nice side salad. Perfect lunch or light dinner meal. Definitely give it a try..it's a keeper here in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araynady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Awesome and easy. Thank you! I roasted the tomato slices first. No green peppers (just a preference). And I used garlic powder and dried basil rather than oregano. Served on sun-dried tomato tortilla. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I lightened this by eliminating the oil and sautéing the veggies in a non-stick skillet coated with olive oil cooking spray. I had part of a fresh zucchini in the fridge, so I added that to the bell peppers (used red and yellow) and onion (used red onion). Also added some dried basil to the top of the pizza and used reduced fat mozzarella cheese. I did spray some of the olive oil cooking spray onto the tortilla before adding any of the toppings; trust me, you won't even miss the pizza sauce on this. What you end up with is a crispy little pizza loaded with fresh veggie flavor. For anybody on the Weight Watchers Points Plus program, these changes resulted in a point value of 5 for each tortilla pizza. My husband and I split one of the tortilla pizzas for lunch today and enjoyed it with sliced cantaloupe and a green side salad. This is soooo easy and soooo tasty! Thanks Brent for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was a great meatless meal. I made some with the addition of red sauce. I liked it both ways but will probably make it as-is next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These are great. I did change some things as we follow a low carb diet (diabetes) we use low carb tortillas. I love my crust crispy so I place the tortillia in a cast iron pan and bake it at 400 degrees for 11-14 minutes before putting toppings on and returned the pan back to oven till cheese is melted. I also prefer fresh basil instead of oregano, and feta cheese just makes a finishing touch of yummy! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This isn’t just for lunch or dinner, it also makes a great snack! Simply delicious and addictive! Who could eat just one?! Since this recipe calls for dry oregano and garlic, I added it to the onions and peppers so it could saute in the oil and have time to soften and come alive. When layering the tortilla, I started with the onion mixture, followed by the cheese, and then the tomato. I used roma tomatoes, sliced less than ¼” thick. Romas have a firmer texture and do not get watery when baked. I baked exactly 10 minutes. I expected the tortilla to be somewhat soft, but it turned out perfectly crisp and could easily be picked up in single wedges. This is the new summer hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I have one major problem with this recipe... why didn't I think of it... using a tortilla as a crust for a personal thin crust pizza awesome idea.. I think using that as a base you can do pretty much what ever you want with this recipe as far as toppings go.... I used 8 inch whole wheat tortillas because that is what I had on hand.... and sauteed the veggies in a not stick pan coated with cooking spray... I thought these has great flavor... a real emphasis on the veggies... and you can honestly change them and the cheese to fit your liking... pepper jack cheese was excellent on this... great idea thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Five Stars! This is fast, fun, filling.. FABULOUS! I sprinkled a lil bit of smoked paprika since I had it. Mm MM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4FuninLV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Excellent!! and super easy to make!!! :-) The hubby definitely enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
What a totally neat idea! I was able to do a refer clean out and used your idea. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizzas

Put whatever you like on your own “pizza.” Then make a sweet one for dessert!

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States