California Tortilla Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I lightened this by eliminating the oil and sautéing the veggies in a non-stick skillet coated with olive oil cooking spray. I had part of a fresh zucchini in the fridge, so I added that to the bell peppers (used red and yellow) and onion (used red onion). Also added some dried basil to the top of the pizza and used reduced fat mozzarella cheese. I did spray some of the olive oil cooking spray onto the tortilla before adding any of the toppings; trust me, you won't even miss the pizza sauce on this. What you end up with is a crispy little pizza loaded with fresh veggie flavor. For anybody on the Weight Watchers Points Plus program, these changes resulted in a point value of 5 for each tortilla pizza. My husband and I split one of the tortilla pizzas for lunch today and enjoyed it with sliced cantaloupe and a green side salad. This is soooo easy and soooo tasty! Thanks Brent for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I'm sorry--I did not care for this. I wanted to... The oregano was bitter, and the pizzas overall had no flavor. If I were to make them again, I would look at adding some sort of seasoning to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These were amazing! I loved the fact that they were nice and crispy and still low in calories. I followed the recommendation of another reviewer and sprayed my tortillas with an olive oil spray. I also added some minced garlic to the vegetables as I was cooking them. I topped these with an Italian cheese blend and a little bit of parmesan...they were a huge hit! Even from my non-veggie loving son. I served these with a nice side salad. Perfect lunch or light dinner meal. Definitely give it a try..it's a keeper here in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araynady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I have one major problem with this recipe... why didn't I think of it... using a tortilla as a crust for a personal thin crust pizza awesome idea.. I think using that as a base you can do pretty much what ever you want with this recipe as far as toppings go.... I used 8 inch whole wheat tortillas because that is what I had on hand.... and sauteed the veggies in a not stick pan coated with cooking spray... I thought these has great flavor... a real emphasis on the veggies... and you can honestly change them and the cheese to fit your liking... pepper jack cheese was excellent on this... great idea thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Awesome and easy. Thank you! I roasted the tomato slices first. No green peppers (just a preference). And I used garlic powder and dried basil rather than oregano. Served on sun-dried tomato tortilla. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Five Stars! This is fast, fun, filling.. FABULOUS! I sprinkled a lil bit of smoked paprika since I had it. Mm MM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4FuninLV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made this recipe using one, 10” sun-dried tomato tortilla. I didn’t sauté my peppers (used green and orange) and onions. I did lightly coat my tortilla with oil, and I also put some cheese down first hoping to shield the tortilla from moisture (sogginess). Then came the peppers and onions. I blotted my tomato slices dry on paper towels before, placing them on top of the pizza and sprinkling the seasonings. Then I added more cheese to the top. I baked this as instructed but for a longer time, maybe 15 minutes, until the edges started to brown. Even though I tried to prevent it, this was still a little soggy. It wasn’t crispy (except the edges) and crunchy like I had hoped. I much prefer what I ordinarily do and that is to coat both sides of the tortilla with EVOO, then pop both sides under the broiler on the middle rack to crisp. During the broiling process, the tortilla will puff up, but just pat it down gently with a spatula. Once toasted on both sides, I top my pizza, usually using the cheese first, and bake at 350 for about 10-15 minutes, until all the toppings are warmed through and cheese has melted. And I never use tomato sauce on a tortilla pizza, because that will guarantee a soggy pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Excellent!! and super easy to make!!! :-) The hubby definitely enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Oh, I hate to rate recipes low. However, I am quite puzzled on this recipe. I followed it exactly except used a flat wrap instead of a tortilla. Despite being all favorite things I like to add to recipes to improve the flavor, this completely lacked it. I tried a couple of different things then finally topped it with some sliced pepperoni to give it somewhat of a pizza flavor. Wish I could figure out where I went wrong. I made it for a lunch I was packing and was hoping it would be a quick, easy, and flavorful regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Tasty and lighter than regular pizza , Found that to get everything cooked to my preference, had to cook the tortillas first , then take what ever veggies (onions green pepper etc) thinly sliced, place on a plate, cover with a paper towel and micro to soften them slightly or to your preference (its faster), I then add just a very small amount of spaghetti sauce then the cheese to the tortilla, then the veggies, a bit more cheese, then spices or anything else you like and micro until cheese is melted. I have had better results using flat bread, but either one works .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizzas

Put whatever you like on your own “pizza.” Then make a sweet one for dessert!

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States