California Tortilla Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was good, although I did prebake the tortilla per bellepepper's review. I would probably add additional seasonings if I were to make this again. Overall, nice quick recipe to use ingredients I had on hand. Thanks for sharing, Brent BeSaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was really good! Mine was not soggy at all. I baked them for 10 mins. I had to leave out the oregano because I didn't have any :( but still good! I added the onion, capsicum & garlic, followed by cheese & then tomato slices. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This isn’t just for lunch or dinner, it also makes a great snack! Simply delicious and addictive! Who could eat just one?! Since this recipe calls for dry oregano and garlic, I added it to the onions and peppers so it could saute in the oil and have time to soften and come alive. When layering the tortilla, I started with the onion mixture, followed by the cheese, and then the tomato. I used roma tomatoes, sliced less than ¼” thick. Romas have a firmer texture and do not get watery when baked. I baked exactly 10 minutes. I expected the tortilla to be somewhat soft, but it turned out perfectly crisp and could easily be picked up in single wedges. This is the new summer hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These are great. I did change some things as we follow a low carb diet (diabetes) we use low carb tortillas. I love my crust crispy so I place the tortillia in a cast iron pan and bake it at 400 degrees for 11-14 minutes before putting toppings on and returned the pan back to oven till cheese is melted. I also prefer fresh basil instead of oregano, and feta cheese just makes a finishing touch of yummy! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was a great meatless meal. I made some with the addition of red sauce. I liked it both ways but will probably make it as-is next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
What a totally neat idea! I was able to do a refer clean out and used your idea. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Tasty and lighter than regular pizza , Found that to get everything cooked to my preference, had to cook the tortillas first , then take what ever veggies (onions green pepper etc) thinly sliced, place on a plate, cover with a paper towel and micro to soften them slightly or to your preference (its faster), I then add just a very small amount of spaghetti sauce then the cheese to the tortilla, then the veggies, a bit more cheese, then spices or anything else you like and micro until cheese is melted. I have had better results using flat bread, but either one works .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Oh, I hate to rate recipes low. However, I am quite puzzled on this recipe. I followed it exactly except used a flat wrap instead of a tortilla. Despite being all favorite things I like to add to recipes to improve the flavor, this completely lacked it. I tried a couple of different things then finally topped it with some sliced pepperoni to give it somewhat of a pizza flavor. Wish I could figure out where I went wrong. I made it for a lunch I was packing and was hoping it would be a quick, easy, and flavorful regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Excellent!! and super easy to make!!! :-) The hubby definitely enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made this recipe using one, 10” sun-dried tomato tortilla. I didn’t sauté my peppers (used green and orange) and onions. I did lightly coat my tortilla with oil, and I also put some cheese down first hoping to shield the tortilla from moisture (sogginess). Then came the peppers and onions. I blotted my tomato slices dry on paper towels before, placing them on top of the pizza and sprinkling the seasonings. Then I added more cheese to the top. I baked this as instructed but for a longer time, maybe 15 minutes, until the edges started to brown. Even though I tried to prevent it, this was still a little soggy. It wasn’t crispy (except the edges) and crunchy like I had hoped. I much prefer what I ordinarily do and that is to coat both sides of the tortilla with EVOO, then pop both sides under the broiler on the middle rack to crisp. During the broiling process, the tortilla will puff up, but just pat it down gently with a spatula. Once toasted on both sides, I top my pizza, usually using the cheese first, and bake at 350 for about 10-15 minutes, until all the toppings are warmed through and cheese has melted. And I never use tomato sauce on a tortilla pizza, because that will guarantee a soggy pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Pita Pizzas

Put whatever you like on your own “pizza.” Then make a sweet one for dessert!

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States