California-Thai Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This steak marinade was awesome- we used it instead of chicken in the Asian Chicken Salad (listed in salads). We have it marinating again today- we'll probably eat it over and over until we can't bear to see it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Wow! We loved this dish. I couldn't find rice wine so I omitted it. I used 1/2 a Vidalla onion rather than red since it was what I had. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass so used a jar of dried. I also left out the garlic salt and added a clove of minced garlic. Nothing in the dish has an over powering flavor and we couldn't get enough of it at our house. I was concerned about the 3 tablespoons of chile paste, but the dish had an undertone of spiciness, but wasn't hot at all. In fact, I planned to give my 4 yo a hotdog, but she not only ate some but asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Super flavor. Followed recipe exactly. Marinade are just so much fun. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I was really hoping to like this recipe, but as it is, I thought it was just ok, and not worth the trouble of getting my charcoal grill going. The flavor was pretty good, but something in the seasonings was a little off--too much coriander? Too much sake? I'm not sure. I made this according to the recipe except for substituting shallots for onions and crushed garlic for garlic salt. Oh, well--I might try it again, only on the stove, and I might reduce the marinade for a glaze. However, for all of you out there who love this recipe but are having a hard time finding lemongrass--one trip to an Asian grocery store and one good growing season, and you can have a pot full of lemongrass--the stalks will grow roots if they're fresh enough and placed in water for a few weeks. Just keep your cats away from them--mine go nuts for lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this for the first time for company. We had several thai style dishes and this was the least favorite. I thought it was fine, but no one else seemed to like it for some reason. They thought the spices didn't taste right. My husband said next time he would omit the rice wine and cut back on the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made a few changes by adding fresh garlic instead of garlic salt (soysauce is salty enough).This recipe was a HUGE hit for some realy foodies that I served it to. I marinated Filet instead of Flank Steak to make the affair a little more upscale. I served cold noodles with peanut sauce, green salad with a cilantro lime dressing, and meyer lemon roasted asparagus. The meal was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Good flavor. We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Wow! The taste is absolutely phenomenal! I served with an old fashioned texas spicy cream of carrot soup and a light salad, and it was a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tropicalbeachdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
OK ....... a bunch of ingredients you seldom see together, but it seemed interesting. I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I grow my own lemongrass, basil, mint, and a bunch of other stuff so it wasn't difficult to prepare. The biggest issue I had was the lack of cooking detail. 20 minutes on medium-high (on my grill) got RARE. I then sliced it all and returned it to the grill grates to finish cooking for another 5 minutes. I may try the recipe again -- but just for the marinade / sauce. I'll stick to other proven flank recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Great as a marinade for just about any type of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States