California-Thai Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
OK ....... a bunch of ingredients you seldom see together, but it seemed interesting. I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I grow my own lemongrass, basil, mint, and a bunch of other stuff so it wasn't difficult to prepare. The biggest issue I had was the lack of cooking detail. 20 minutes on medium-high (on my grill) got RARE. I then sliced it all and returned it to the grill grates to finish cooking for another 5 minutes. I may try the recipe again -- but just for the marinade / sauce. I'll stick to other proven flank recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Great as a marinade for just about any type of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made a few changes by adding fresh garlic instead of garlic salt (soysauce is salty enough).This recipe was a HUGE hit for some realy foodies that I served it to. I marinated Filet instead of Flank Steak to make the affair a little more upscale. I served cold noodles with peanut sauce, green salad with a cilantro lime dressing, and meyer lemon roasted asparagus. The meal was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I have made this for a couple years now. It is outstanding and deserves more stars. I do not omit any ingredients, use McCormicks dried lemon grass and soak in warm water for 20-30 minutes before chopping, and do use fresh mint and basil. I marinate the meat 24-48 hours, bring up to room temparature before cooking and cook medium rare, let it rest a few minutes and slice very thin and serve with fried rice or a salad with some type of Asian dressing. It makes great left overs for steak salad or steak sandwhiches. I have made it for house geusts a few times and everyone raves about the taste and how tender the meat is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My mom is Japanese so I have almost exclusively prepare my steaks with soy sauce-based mariandes. I love the ingredients in this marinade so I expected a really delicious steak, but for a soy sauce-based mariande, it really wasn't that flavorful. Wasn't bad, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
We were ready for a new way to prepare flank steak, and this one was loved by all! Per other reviewers, reduced coriander by half, and chile paste by 2/3 (but that one's up to you!), and unintentionally marinated for 24 hours! Delicious! We grow our own lemon grass, and if you don't have it, try the local asian foods store. You can sometimes find all of these ingredients in some larger groceries, including the cooking rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I was really hoping to like this recipe, but as it is, I thought it was just ok, and not worth the trouble of getting my charcoal grill going. The flavor was pretty good, but something in the seasonings was a little off--too much coriander? Too much sake? I'm not sure. I made this according to the recipe except for substituting shallots for onions and crushed garlic for garlic salt. Oh, well--I might try it again, only on the stove, and I might reduce the marinade for a glaze. However, for all of you out there who love this recipe but are having a hard time finding lemongrass--one trip to an Asian grocery store and one good growing season, and you can have a pot full of lemongrass--the stalks will grow roots if they're fresh enough and placed in water for a few weeks. Just keep your cats away from them--mine go nuts for lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was absolutely delicious!! The only thing I will do differently next time is go ahead and marinate overnight. I marinated for about 8 hours and the flavor was good...but not quite as intense as I would have liked. I subbed beer for the rice wine, and omitted the lemongrass & mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was delicious. Mine came out a little salty but was perfect with jasmine rice. Didn't have corriander but it was good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I made this for my girlfriend on her birthday...she loved it! I'm definatly using this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States