California-Thai Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We loved this recipe, and I am sure it is so good as written, but since I didn't have all the ingredients I changed it a little bit. I used white wine instead of rice wine, canola oil instead of sesame oil, 1 tbs dried basil instead of fresh, 1 tbs dried mint instead of fresh, no lemon grass, 3 tbs of peanut butter instead of crushed peanuts, and 1 tbs of cilantro instead of coriander. Everything else I used the same as per the recipe. Make sure to marinate the steak overnight. Also, I put the steak on the grill and since I didn't want to discard the marinate, I boiled it and used it as a sauce for the steak...yummmo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana Lizarraga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This is a great dish. Followed the recipe but added 1 chicken breast and 1 Italian sausage so those in my family that don't really like seafood could still have it. Feedback was that it was spicy, and it was but for my sons and I that's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
We made this in the slow cooker instead and it turned out amazing. Just dump all of the ingredients in the crock pot covering the flank steak with the marinade. Put on low 8 hours and you are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This took a little longer to put together than some marinades, but I think the end result was worth it. My husband said the meat was very flavourful and tender. Marinated for about 10 hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Good recipe. I left out the rice wine for personal preference and I made a thai pesto with the remainder of the ingredients and rubbed it into the steak - I think it permeates the meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.....so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make twice a year or more. I make stir fried rice with lots of veggies in to seve with it. It makes excellent leftovers for salads or sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This dish is okay, I might make it again and chop it up with some thai noodles or something. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is pretty good. I'm not crazy about the cooking method. I just cooked it right on the grill. I also used 2 cloves fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. I do feel like it's missing fish sauce though and next time I make it I'll slip some in. It did smell fabulous on the grill. Reminded me of street vendors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Wow! The taste is absolutely phenomenal! I served with an old fashioned texas spicy cream of carrot soup and a light salad, and it was a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tropicalbeachdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States