California-Style Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
just finished making this recipe...and it is absolutely delicious .....after the 20 minutes was up, I let it rest for 10 minutes as I do whenever I make any rice dish then fluffed w/a fork and it is just lovely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Eagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I did like the recipe. A little bland but it's a great base! Add a little of this and that and WOW! I did a little cumin, garlic, and Chipotle pepper powder. I also added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes but one of the cans I spun in the blender a quick turn. I wanted some more tomato juice. I have to admit when it comes to cooking times on anyone's recipe I tend to not pay attention. I use it as a guideline and just cook to suit me. So those that say it's overdone..they should have cooked to their own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We had a mexican themed potluck, and I made this. It was a hit! I followed some of the other reviewers ideas and sauteed the onions and green peppers together in the same pan as the bacon grease. I also added two cloves of garlic in with the onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
too many bell peppers, not very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I thought it was interesting and touching that this recipe hails back to the '20s with the submitter's great aunt. Tasting the rice I could imagine it so - I definitely had the sense of it being a dish from the past. But back then everything was overcooked - at least by today's standards, and Hubs and I both found this overcooked to the point of near mushiness. And I felt it too heavy with the flavor of the bell peppers, needing some seasoning to round it out. With some updating this rice might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My family loved this. I did it all in one pan like another reviewer mentioned. I didn't see the need for two pans. So I cooked the bacon, removed, and then sauteed the onions and peppers. I added a little bit more broth because it was drying up too early and it came out just right. This is a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I love this rice dish. i like to add half a can of green chillies or japalino to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Not only easy but good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is a good recipe, I used sweet peppers and fresh garden roma tomatoes as well as homemade chile salsa to add my own twist to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I'm delighted with this recipe. I did do some things a little differently, like using my own fresh tomatoes and leftover cooked rice. Basically, I believe this recipe could be adapted to quite a few different tastes...which I will probably do in future because I don't always have all the same ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States