California-Style Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
just finished making this recipe...and it is absolutely delicious .....after the 20 minutes was up, I let it rest for 10 minutes as I do whenever I make any rice dish then fluffed w/a fork and it is just lovely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Eagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I did like the recipe. A little bland but it's a great base! Add a little of this and that and WOW! I did a little cumin, garlic, and Chipotle pepper powder. I also added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes but one of the cans I spun in the blender a quick turn. I wanted some more tomato juice. I have to admit when it comes to cooking times on anyone's recipe I tend to not pay attention. I use it as a guideline and just cook to suit me. So those that say it's overdone..they should have cooked to their own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We had a mexican themed potluck, and I made this. It was a hit! I followed some of the other reviewers ideas and sauteed the onions and green peppers together in the same pan as the bacon grease. I also added two cloves of garlic in with the onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
too many bell peppers, not very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I thought it was interesting and touching that this recipe hails back to the '20s with the submitter's great aunt. Tasting the rice I could imagine it so - I definitely had the sense of it being a dish from the past. But back then everything was overcooked - at least by today's standards, and Hubs and I both found this overcooked to the point of near mushiness. And I felt it too heavy with the flavor of the bell peppers, needing some seasoning to round it out. With some updating this rice might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My family loved this. I did it all in one pan like another reviewer mentioned. I didn't see the need for two pans. So I cooked the bacon, removed, and then sauteed the onions and peppers. I added a little bit more broth because it was drying up too early and it came out just right. This is a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I love this rice dish. i like to add half a can of green chillies or japalino to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricci Sadar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Not only easy but good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is a good recipe, I used sweet peppers and fresh garden roma tomatoes as well as homemade chile salsa to add my own twist to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I'm delighted with this recipe. I did do some things a little differently, like using my own fresh tomatoes and leftover cooked rice. Basically, I believe this recipe could be adapted to quite a few different tastes...which I will probably do in future because I don't always have all the same ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States