California Style Israeli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I gave this to all of my friends who are looking for a delicious crunchy veggie dish, It is in my refreigerator every week so when I am hungry, I just scoop up a bit and wow ...it is great. Two fresh lemons and the jicama veggie are a MUST HAVE I also add cilantro, salt and a touch of pepper. Because you use the English Cucumber and the plum tomatoes, it does not get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This was a pretty looking salad. My husband actually walked by & asked if I'd made a fruit salad. The taste is mild. If you want more of a zing, I guess you could add something like garlic to it. I served the red onions on the side as my husband isn't a big onion fan. I'd never bought jicama (or an English cucumber) before & it was a nice change. The jicama adds more of a crisper texture, almost like an apple. This is a nice healthy alternative to the standard lettuce salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful salad. I have made it both with jicama and without. Without it is more traditional and with, a little more modern and more cruncy. I have also used different colors of peppers mixed together to give it a more colorful appearance.It has become my favorite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Thank Haven for the produce guy because I had no idea what the difference was between a English cucumber & a regular one, much less what a jicama was. I was skeptical about the jicama, but I'm going to be looking for more recipes with it. This is a keeper, but I'd refrigerate several hours before serving because it tastes better & the flavors can blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Nice change. My husband also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
The taste was good, but as an Israeli girl I must say- NOT very authentic! We don't even have jicama in Israel! Let alone English cucumbers! The usual salad spices are black pepper, salt, lots of freshly squeezed lemon juice, and maybe chopped green onion or parsley. I recomment adding a couple of grated carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I LOVE this salad. I've been making it for a few years now with different variations. Sometimes without jicama etc. But for special occasions I always make it with the jicama. Sometimes I add red and green pepper as well. I always make it when I have a brunch at my house. People love it. Very refreshing and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Quite good. I left out the bell pepper and added red pepper flakes and used cilnatro instead of parsley. I do think this needs a bit more spices so at the table I added a bit of a cajun spice blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This wasn't what I expected, but worked out well for the meal I made. This resembled more of a salsa - but we had pita and seasoned ground turkey meat, so we just added this in and it was pretty good. I would not recommend using dried parsley, it made it look terrible. I would use fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is a nice, refreshing salad. The jicama added a great crunch and a slightly sweet flavor. I had some fresh mint that needed to be used, so I added that and it went well with the flavors. Plus, I used fresh parsley, and green onions instead of red. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States