California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
i don't really write reviews anymore, but i had to write one here because this salad is genuinely one of my favorite recipes ever. i've been making it for years now. the dressing is incredibly tasty, & i love the combination of fresh, creamy, and spicy flavors, along with the crunch from the tortilla chips. the only change i make is to use black rather than green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I give this between 3-4 stars. It was confusing to whether this was a side salad or a main dish salad. It seemed heavy enough to be a main salad, but seemed like it would be better with beans, corn, or maybe grilled chicken to make it a full meal. The only change I made was only making half the dressing. I used lite mayo and because my avocado was small I just used the whole thing. The dressing was kind of thick with using the whole avocado, I believe, so I added a couple of splashes of milk. I am glad I halved the dressing, because I still thought the lettuce mixture was slightly too heavily coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Best thing ever! I have been making this recipe for years (I just now got around to actually rating it) and everyone who tries it loves it. I often add cilantro and use tortilla chips if I don't have Fritos on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I liked this, altho I will be making a few modifications next time. Although the dressing was very good, it was a bit too oily. I will cut down on that next time. Also keep in mind, do not add the crumbled corn chips until ready to serve because mine got very soggy as it sat around for a half hour or so!! Soggy chips are not so good. Use fresh tomatoes as I used a can of diced tomatoes which added to the overall sogginess. I also will be using sliced ripe black olives next time as the green olives made it too salty. I did not use hot pepper sauce, I threw in a serrano pepper into the blender and it was just right. Lastly, I will be adding a few more ingredients next time. Grilled chicken breast (shredded); black beans; and corn kernels. Can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
As with everyone else we couldn't get enough of this salad. My son had thirds and claimed "This is the best salad I've ever had!" I didn't have green onions on hand so I left them out and it didn't make or break the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is a great tasting salad. The dressing makes the salad. Add the corn chips just before serving or place in separate bowl and let your guest add as much as they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is the BEST salad, I've been making it now for many years,everyone loves it. Sometimes I just use the dressing on steak or chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Totally awesomely delicious. Loved the mix of veggies that went in here. I don't know that the cheese was necessary but loved the olives/tomatoes with the sauce. Not sure why the prep time is 25 minutes, it took about 5 minutes to make the dressing and 5 minutes to throw the other stuff together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was soooo good. We did not measure exactly, and after dinner I noticed we forgot the olives. Didn't matter. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is the best, most requested, salad I've ever made. FYI...you HAVE to include the olives, even if you don't love olives. They really add a saltyy component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States