California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Excellent salad...we couldnt get enough. I too used black olives instead of green. Will definately make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
We loved this-the dressing really makes this salad special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This dressing is soooo good! My instinct told me to add cilantro & I'm not at all sorry that I did! Simple, but tasty. We used black olives because my little olive queen ate all of the green ;) We also used croutons instead of the corn chips. Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Size does matter! We had this for New Year's Eve (with Baja Baked Potatoes and Ribeye Steaks with Soy and Ginger Marinade, by the way - both from Allrecipes.com). The dressing was a bit out of proportion to the salad (not enoughlettuce to dressing). And the dressing was too mayonaisey for my taste (I think because the recipe called for "1 avocado" and mine was a small avocado). My recommendation would be to make sure to have extra lettuce for backup- and to use 2 small or one large avocado---or half the mayonaise and add more to taste. Another trick for working with the avocado is to use a rotation-type cheese grater (like a "Salad Shooter") to "grate" it into the blender, expecially if it is not soft. It is much easier to get the dressing smoothe, since it is particularly thick dressing, and the chunks of avocado tend to stick to the sides. (If you have a food processor, this is probably not a problem.)I have used this method for guacamole with great satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
GREAT SALAD! EASY TO MAKE, THE DRESSING IS QUITE DIFFERENT, BUT AWESOME!!! I ADDED CHICK PEAS AND CUCUMBERS TO GIVE IT SOME EXTRAS. BUT IN MY OPINION THE CORN CHIPS CAN BE LEFT OUT, AND STILL THE SALAD IS PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I added some fresh cilantro to this. The flavor of the cilantro made this salad even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Love this salad! I thinned the dressing a bit with whole milk to get it to the right consistency for me. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I made this with lime tostitos. It was fantastic! Great flavor and even my 1yo son ate it. Next time I think I would add the mayo & oil by hand because it all separated in the processor when it was pureed. Still tasted fine though. Definately a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Yum! I substituted black olives and fresh parmesean over red and green leaf lettuce and it was great! My family agrees Chili-Lime Fritos are the best corn chip to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Yum! We had a dinner party yesterday and this was a nice light, yet very flavorful salad that complimented my chicken franchaise and fetticini alfredo beautifully. The avacado dressing is a little different and absolutely delish! I'm happy to say that all the kids went nuts over this. Thanks so much Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States