California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Love this salad! I thinned the dressing a bit with whole milk to get it to the right consistency for me. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Good salad Lori. I made this for my mom and I over the Christmas holidays and we both enjoyed this...though it was very filling. We left out the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was a very tasty dish, but I felt the dressing still needed something. I ended up adding salsa which seemed to spice it up a bit. Overall the dish was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
My entire family thought this tasted awful. Thank goodness we had leftovers in the fridge for something else to eat. Way too much mayonnaise and very little taste to this dressing. Thought the corn chips added a strange taste to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Excellent dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
This recipe was fabulous, everyone loved it. All the ingredients blended wonderful! Such a good twist on a taco type salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was excellent. I didn't use the corn chips, and I only used about 2/3rds of the dressing. It was so tasty. You could really taste the avacado. I took this to a friends house and it got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This salad is addicting! I actually messed up the first time I made it and omitted the mayo in the dressing (how do you DO that?!!). It came out thin and oily, but tasted great! The second time, I used the mayo the the dressing was a little too thick but tasted awesome. I think next time I'll use 1/4 to 1/3 cup mayo and maybe add an olive or 2 to the blender to add salt and zest. Be sure to use Fritos in this salad, they're the BEST! Little chunks of avocado would be great too, but adds to the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I tried this salad a second time substituting sour cream for the mayo, adding another avocado, and using rosted red pepper flavored olives in place of the green olives, and it still is not quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This recipe wasn't bad, but it wasn't as good as I'd have expected. I made it for a "ladies' lunch," and fortunately had the ladies taste the avocado mixture before I tossed it with the greens, etc. They ended up eating bottled salad dressing on their greens, and I ate some of the salad with the avocado mixture later. I think that if I were to try it again, I would definitely omit the olive oil -- and I might consider throwing in some sour cream. I did use a previous reviewer's idea of using tortilla chips in place of corn chips, which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States