California Salad Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This salad came out really good with the changes and additions I made. After reading the reviews, I cut back the mayo, used lime juice instead of lemon and doubled it. I added some ciantro and some salsa and played with the consistency of the dressing until it was thin enough to add to the salad (individually, but on the whole salad). It was still thick, but had wonderful flavor! I also added some shredded rotissary chicken to the salad. My whole family enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe. I took the suggestions of others and cut down on the mayo and oil and it was not oily at all for us. I also added a little water to thin it a bit. I think I would use black olives next time as it does resemble a taco salad. A keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
My new favorite when the avacoda's are ripe in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and it is always great! I don't add the cheese as I don't like cheese in salads. But I've always gotten rave reviews from guests when I've made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was good, however the dressing was way to oily! I would cut the oil in half if not more. I also added dried cranberries. Other than the oil issue it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! We used it for my mother's 50th birthday bbq and it was a huge success. I used sunflower seeds in place of corn chips, and put chopped avacados on the top of the salad. Will definately use this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This salad is a miss for me. It is basically a taco salad without the meat. I think it would make a much better recipe if it included chicken strips or taco seasoned ground beef on top. Also, it is VERY SALTY because of the corn chips and the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was very good. It actually tasted a lot like a taco. I left out the cheese, and instead of mayo, I blended half an avocado with 2 tsp of balsamic vinegar and a sundried tomato (I discovered on accident that this odd combo actually tastes a lot like mayo). I also used blue-corn tortilla chips, which are less greasy and not as salty. I think this would be good with black olives in addition to the green. Definitely a keeper. UPDATE: I made this again and subbed homemade salsa for the mayo, and it was just delicious! I'll make it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very tasty dressing. I put two small avocados, 2 cloves of garlic, a little more olive oil and the juice of one lemon in it. I also used iceberg lettuce instead of romaine, as that is all that I had. It was a traditional, yummy-tasting taco salad. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I really wanted to love this recipe, but we didn't. I saw others say that it was bland but it tasted like guacamole on lettuce. The dressing was so thick also...and tasted alot like olive oil. I ended up throwing the dressing away, but keeping the salad part (thank goodness I didn't put the dressing on the lettuce before tasting it.) Sorry this wasn't for us..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States